Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Notebook | Compact arrow MSI Wind Top AE2010 AIO Desktop System
MSI Wind Top AE2010 AIO Desktop System E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Notebook | Compact PC
Written by Olin Coles   
Friday, 11 September 2009
Table of Contents: Page Index
MSI Wind Top AE2010 AIO Desktop System
Features and Specifications
Closer Look: MSI Wind Top
AE2010-02SUS Detailed Features
Testing and Results
PCMark Vantage Results
EVEREST CPU Benchmarks
Passmark PerformanceTest
CINEBENCH Test Results
Hands On User Experience
AE2010 Gaming Performance
Wind Top Final Thoughts
MSI AE2010 Conclusion

MSI Wind Top AE2010 Review

Until the last few years, desktop computers were the standard in personal computing. When someone needed a computer, they didn't compare netbook or notebook pricing; they simply bought a heavy mid-tower computer system with a detached monitor and lots of cables. Eventually the notebook computer crept into the desktop space near the eve of Y2K, and today we see a sophisticated array of smart phones and portable mobile devices replacing the languished desktop system. Fortunately, being defined as a desktop computer doesn't include surrendering a large portion of real estate inside your work area.

Desktop computers are making a resurgence, and have exploited the compact nature of newer technology to provide the best of both worlds. Netbooks are the popular item for travelers, but they don't get the job done for full time workers and students. Notebooks are nice, and meet halfway, but have their own limits too. Behold the nettop. It's a compact desktop computer with a notebook profile. In this article, Benchmark Reviews tests the MSI Wind Top AE2010-02SUS All-In-One touch screen desktop computer against an Intel Atom-equipped ASUS Eee PC netbook, Core 2 Duo notebook, and NVIDIA ION desktop system.

MSI_Wind_Top_AE2010_All-In-One_Desktop.jpg

MSI has taken their portable Wind nettop computer system and combined it with a full-featured desktop computer. The result is a stylish and compact all-in-one (AIO) personal computer system that fits in the space of a 20-inch monitor. Not to be outdone, that small footprint doesn't just shelter a display, it also incorporates touch-screen functionality along with an integrated web cam and stereo SRS speakers. Even after all this, there are still more perks to be discovered on the MSI All-In-One desktop system. If you're interested in full-size computing using pint-size technology, Benchmark Reviews examines the MSI Wind Top AE2010.

About MSI Desktopmsi_desktop_logo.png

Founded in 1986, MSI strives to design and manufacture superior technology and innovative products, while offering outstanding customer service. MSI has continued to uphold a business philosophy that stresses "Award-winning product quality and outstanding customer service." MSI specializes in the design and manufacture of mainboards, graphics cards, desktop PCs, all-in-one PCs, wireless communication products, and Notebook PCs. To learn more about MSI's complete product lines, please visit: us.msi.com



 

Comments 

 
# sales manager-staplessean 2010-05-08 12:19
could I get a copy of this full article 'e-mailed to my ...e-mail ? I'm doing a presentation on the MSI WINDTOP.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: MSI Wind Top AE2010 AIO Desktop SystemBobbie Kean 2010-06-18 13:46
I got one of these computers and I will never, ever buy another MSI product as long as I live. It has been at MSI for repairs more than I have had the computer to use.

The first thing to go was the power supply after less than 3 weeks use. I shipped it back and the power supply was replaced. When I received the computer back it was poorly packed and the top section that contains the web came was busted into little pieces. Another ship back to MSI. Then I had to fight with them for 2 weeks to get my power cord back.

It is in the box to go back to MSI right now as apparently and this is according their tech support, the motherboard has gone out. I have been waiting nearly two hours now for the RMA and shipping label to send it back to them. I am one step away from calling the credit card company and seeing if we can do something about it because of the problems that I have had with MSI and this computer.
Report Comment
 
 
# wtfMista bowas 2010-10-13 06:01
yo so i bought thise computer a few weerks ago and set it up today and i downloaded a few things right and than itried downloadin world of warcraf tna apparently it doesnt have enuff space on the hard drive? so i delete everythin i have downloaded except for warcraft and yet it says i still need to delete stuff to make room for it like wtf is this # it says i have 68,3 gigs and 6.68 gis left and i look under control panel and under programs and it says theirs about 4gigs of programs their
so what the # is this #?
Report Comment
 
 
# 250GB Already UsedBruceBruce 2010-10-13 06:19
The machine in this review comes with a 320GB SATA Hard Disk Drive installed. If you only have 68.3 gigs left, that means you loaded over 200 GB of material to the hard drive already...???

You must have a different system, if it only has a total of 68.3 GB of HDD space.

Yes, with only 6.68 GB of HDD space, it doesn't surprise me that WoW doesn't have enough space to install and run properly. You obviously need a bigger HDD.
Report Comment
 
 
# UpgradeSimone 2010-11-21 23:48
Well i have this pc for almost a year now and im happy with it :)
I would just like to know if I can upgrade it.
Like a graphic gard and some extra memory in?
Report Comment
 
 
# UPGRADE INFOHazardouzx 2011-01-22 11:58
yes you can upgrade but make sure you take it into someone who knows how to do it. The MSI company has great technologies there. But if something is wrong and you return it they will just keep the one you gave them and send out a used one. The MSI company dose not care on customers. They care bout making money. These types of computers are like what they use in doctor offices and stuff. there not meant for personal use.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: MSI Wind Top AE2010 AIO Desktop SystemClayton Baugh 2011-12-15 13:19
I bought one of these in late september thinking it would be great for PC gaming

Now i realize i need to upgrade the GPU/CPU and maybe memory

IM thinking about getting this : ##newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161379

Would i be able to upgrade this computer with that product?

If not what could i upgrade it with that would allow me to play big games like Skyrim or COD or GTA IV that is cheap and worth buying
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: MSI Wind Top AE2010 AIO Desktop SystemOlin Coles 2011-12-15 13:26
It's too bad you didn't read this review first, because graphics cannot be upgraded on the MSI Wind Top AE2010. Your best chance is to reduce graphics options to a level that will play without stutter.
Report Comment
 
 
# technicianEd 2012-05-04 19:31
Hello guys,
would like to buy system board for this pc (video chip - screw..any idea where can get one..thanks
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter