Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Video Cards arrow Sapphire HD4890 Toxic Vapor-X 11150-01-40R
Sapphire HD4890 Toxic Vapor-X 11150-01-40R E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Video Cards
Written by Olin Coles   
Tuesday, 09 June 2009
Table of Contents: Page Index
Sapphire HD4890 Toxic Vapor-X 11150-01-40R
Radeon HD 4890 Features
RV790 GPU Specifications
HD4890 Toxic Closer Look
Video Card Testing Methodology
3DMark06 Benchmarks
COD 4 Fraps Benchmarks
Crysis Benchmark Results
Devil May Cry 4 Benchmark
Far Cry 2 Benchmark
World in Conflict Benchmarks
Radeon HD 4890 Temperatures
VGA Power Consumption
Radeon 4000 Final Thoughts
HD4890 Toxic Conclusion

VGA Testing Methodology

At the start of all tests, the previous display adapter driver is uninstalled and trace components are removed using Driver Cleaner Pro. We then restart the computer system to establish our display settings and define the monitor. Once the hardware is prepared, we begin our testing. The synthetic benchmark tests in 3DMark06 will utilize shader models 2.0 and 3.0, while the video games will use their own proprietary game engine. For lower-end VGA products we test at 1024x768 (15-17" standard LCD), 1280x1024 (17-19" standard LCD), and 1680x1050 (22-24" widescreen LCD). In our higher-end VGA product tests we conduct add the 1920x1200 (24-28" widescreen LCD) resolution. In some tests we utilized widescreen monitor resolutions, since more users are beginning to feature these products for their own computing.Sapphire_HD4890_Toxic_Vapor-X_GPU-Z.png

Each benchmark test program begins after a system restart, and the very first result for every test will be ignored since it often only caches the test. This process proved extremely important in the World in Conflict and Supreme Commander benchmarks, as the first run served to cache maps allowing subsequent tests to perform much better than the first. Each test is completed five times, with the average results displayed in our article.

Our site polls and statistics indicate that the vast majority of visitors use their PC for playing video games, and practically every one of you are using a screen resolutions mentioned above. Since all of the benchmarks we use for testing represent different game engine technology and graphic rendering processes, I feel that this battery of tests will provide a diverse range of results for you to gauge performance on your own computer system. Since most gamers and enthusiasts are still using Windows XP, it was decided that DirectX 9 would be used for all tests until Microsoft offers Windows 7 to replace the Vista.

Test System

Benchmark Applications

  • 3DMark06 v1.1.0 (8x Anti Aliasing & 16x Anisotropic Filtering)
  • Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare v1.7.568 (4x AA/16x Trilinear AF using FRAPS)
  • Crysis v1.21 Benchmark (High Settings, 0x and 4x Anti-Aliasing)
  • Devil May Cry 4 Benchmark Demo (Ultra Quality, 8x MSAA)
  • Far Cry 2 v1.02 (Very High Performance, Ultra-High Quality, 8x AA)
  • World in Conflict v1.0.0.9 Performance Test (Very High Setting: 4x AA/4x AF)

Video Card Test Products

Product Series NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT Reference Design NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260216 Reference Design Sapphire HD4890 Toxic 11150-01-40R ASUS GeForce GTX 285 ENGTX285 TOP Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 102-B50701-10-AT CrossFireX Set NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295 Reference Design
Stream Processors 112 216 800 240 640 x2 480
Core Clock (MHz) 600 576 960 670 750 x2 576
Shader Clock (MHz) 1457 1242 N/A 1550 N/A 1242
Memory Clock (MHz) 950 999 1050 1300 850 x2 999
Memory Amount 512 MB GDDR3 896 MB GDDR3 1024 MB GDDR5 1024 MB GDDR3 512MB (x2) GDDR5 1024MB (x2) GDDR3
Memory Interface 256-bit 448-bit 256-bit 512-bit 256-bit 512-bit
  • NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT Reference Design (600 MHz GPU/1457 Shader/950 RAM - Forceware 182.08)
  • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260216 Reference Design (576 MHz GPU/1242 MHz Shader/999 MHz RAM - Forceware 182.08)
  • Sapphire Radeon HD 4890 Toxic 11150-01-40R (960 MHz GPU/1050 MHz RAM - ATI Catalyst 9.5 v6.14.10.6947)
  • ASUS GeForce GTX 285 ENGTX285 TOP (670 MHz GPU/1550 MHz Shader/1330 MHz RAM - Forceware 182.08)
  • 2x Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 102-B50701-10-AT in CrossFireX (750 MHz GPU/900 MHz RAM - ATI Catalyst 9.5 v6.14.10.6947)
  • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295 Reference Design (576 MHz GPU x2/1242 Shader/999 MHz RAM - Forceware 182.08)

Now we're ready to begin testing video game performance these video cards, so please continue to the next page as we start with the 3DMark06 results.



 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter