Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Memory arrow OCZ 6GB 1600MHz CL7 DDR3 OCZ3P1600LV6GK
OCZ 6GB 1600MHz CL7 DDR3 OCZ3P1600LV6GK E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Memory
Written by Olin Coles   
Tuesday, 24 February 2009
Table of Contents: Page Index
OCZ 6GB 1600MHz CL7 DDR3 OCZ3P1600LV6GK
Features and Specifications
Closer Look: OCZ DDR3
DDR3 Series Results
RAM Testing Methodology
Performance Test Results
Triple-Channel DDR3 Final Thoughts
OCZ3P1600LV6GK Memory Kit Conclusion

OCZ3P1600LV6GK Memory Kit Conclusion

I like to begin memory kit conclusions with a summary of performance to help explain my rating for the product. The OCZ 6GB DDR3 1600MHz memory kit may not seem all that great when you hear so much about dual-channel kits reaching 2000MHz, but triple-channel architecture is a different platform altogether. The CL7 latency for the OCZ3P1600LV6GK kit is somewhat low, but the Gigabyte X58 motherboards all have a BIOS that refuses to drop below CL6 anyway. The OCZ 6GB DDR3 1600MHz memory kit didn't care too much for operating at CL6 unless the memory multiplier was reduced, so the only other direction was to push the clock speed higher. Overclocking at the already-maxed 1.65V power rating only offered an additional 32 MHz, so this probably isn't going to be the kit you'll be tweaking past the factory specs.

OCZ_Triple_Channel_DDR3_Splash.jpg

OCZ has used the 'Platinum' memory kit packaging for many of their most popular products, and without looking at the label you would be hard-pressed to tell the difference. Since 1.65V causes very little heat on the module, excessive cooling measures are pointless and even heat-spreaders become unnecessary. Considering this, I personally think that OCZ has combined equal parts function and fashion, and deliver an appealing product with no sacrifice in performance.

Construction is one key asset OCZ has in their favor. With an OCZ 'Lifetime Warranty' behind all of their Platinum Triple-Channel memory kits, you can't really go wrong. The permanently secured Platinum Z3 XTC heat-spreader grill helps protect the DRAM IC modules, so all that remains for concern is static discharge damage. Even then, the warranty has you covered.

Benchmark Reviews has tested the 6GB Platinum 1600 MHz Triple-Channel memory kit (OCZ3P1600LV6GK), but OCZ also offers a three-piece 3GB kit (OCZ3P1600LV3GK) kit that is perfect for 32-bit Operating Systems. The lower CL7-7-7-24 (CAS-TRCD-TRP-TRAS) latency is going to offer some of the best performance available from any Triple-Channel X58-based kit, so there's really no need to search out higher speed kits that ultimately offer little performance improvement.

As of late-February 2009, DDR3 prices have collapsed faster than the American economy. The results are great for consumers, who can pick-up the 6GB OCZ Platinum Triple-Channel 1600 MHz DDR3 memory kit for last years DDR2 prices. At the time of this writing, NewEgg sold the OCZ3P1600LV6GK memory kit for $149.99, which was further reduced by OCZ's $20 mail-in rebate. Getting 6GB of DDR3 or $129.99 is great, and you can't beat this price! It's even a better price than the $189.99 OCZ 1333MHz CL7 kit.

Without knowing any better, most enthusiasts would overlook a 1600MHz DDR3 memory kit because of all the marketing hype given to 2000MHz+ kits; but doing so would be at their own loss. Triple-channel X58 motherboards favor low-latency DDR3 memory, and OCZ offers the perfect solution in their Platinum PC3-12800 kit. Selling the OCZ3P1600LV6GK DDR3 memory kit at a price closer to DDR2 helps make the new platform more affordable, and the extra overclocking headroom improves the overclock for enthusiasts. Gamers need not worry about the clock speed, since latency is going to be the biggest concern of the two variable, and the OCZ Platinum DDR3 memory kits perform as well as any. I recommend the OCZ Platinum 6GB Triple-Channel 1600 MHz DDR3 as an all-around excellent memory kit to tackle every task it faces, from casual computing to highly-tweaked overclocks. For the price, there isn't a better value anywhere else.

Pros:Quality Recognition: Benchmark Reviews Silver Tachometer Award

+ Low CL7 Triple-Channel DDR3 latency
+ Offers 1600 MHz bandwidth
+ Lifetime warranty and support
+ Extremely good value
+ 6GB High-capacity Triple-Channel memory kit
+ Standard module profile offers multi-platform compatibility

Cons:

- No additional voltage headroom
- Only overclocks 32MHz from 1600 to 1632

Ratings:

  • Performance: 8.75
  • Appearance: 9.00
  • Construction: 9.25
  • Functionality: 9.00
  • Value: 8.75

Final Score: 8.95 out of 10.

Quality Recognition: Benchmark Reviews Silver Tachometer Award.

Questions? Comments? Benchmark Reviews really wants your feedback. We invite you to leave your remarks in our Discussion Forum.


Related Articles:


 

Comments 

 
# my ddr3 ram wont lock into motherboardtheodore hastreiter 2010-02-18 13:26
i just bought some ocz ddr3 6gb sticks and i cant seem to lock them into place it seems the notches are to high my motherboard is a asus m4a77td pro and my ram is OCZ 6gb OCZ3P1333LV6GK DDR3 PC3-10666 1333 can someone plz send their opinion to my email.
Report Comment
 
 
# Without O/C how can we get better performance with PC12800 ?bsquare 2010-11-29 23:59
I've read that intel i7 (particularly 920, 930 ... 950) was limited to equivalent of PC10600.
So without overclocking, HOW can we get better performance with PC12800 (compared to PC10600) ?

Best regards
Report Comment
 
 
# OC Yes....BruceBruce 2010-11-30 05:14
The primary benefit to the higher memory speeds is the ability to keep up with the CPU as it is overclocked, IMHO.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: OCZ 6GB 1600MHz CL7 DDR3 OCZ3P1600LV6GKbsquare 2010-11-30 05:17
Ok; but without O/C ?!
Report Comment
 
 
# Not just IntelBruceBruce 2010-11-30 05:27
The motherboard manufacturers have been more accomodating than Intel, and have provided additional multiplier settings on most enthusiast products. This allows you to run the memory at the higher speeds, even though Intel never designed the CPU/Chipset to do so.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: OCZ 6GB 1600MHz CL7 DDR3 OCZ3P1600LV6GKbsquare 2010-11-30 05:32
Hum ... so YES without overclocking, we can get better performance with PC12800, against PC10600, thanks to motherboard technology; right ?
Is it still true with PC17066 ... and PC19200 ?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: OCZ 6GB 1600MHz CL7 DDR3 OCZ3P1600LV6GKBruceBruce 2010-11-30 21:46
One of the best demonstrations of what you're asking about is here on this site, this 2500 MHz kit that was tested recently.

benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=616&Itemid=67&limit=1&limitstart=6
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: OCZ 6GB 1600MHz CL7 DDR3 OCZ3P1600LV6GKbsquare 2010-12-01 00:09
Thx for information but it confirms overclocking is needed to benefit from such higher frequencies.
My question still exists without overclocking; what is the higher frequencies we can benefit with an core i7 950 ?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: OCZ 6GB 1600MHz CL7 DDR3 OCZ3P1600LV6GKbsquare 2010-12-02 05:20
WITHOUT overclocking; what is the higher frequencies we can benefit with an core i7 950 ?
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter