Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Monitor | HDTV arrow Olevia/Syntax 242T FHD 42-Inch LCD 1080p HDTV
Olevia/Syntax 242T FHD 42-Inch LCD 1080p HDTV E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Monitor | HDTV
Written by Matt Williams - Edited by Olin Coles   
Wednesday, 08 October 2008
Table of Contents: Page Index
Olevia/Syntax 242T FHD 42-Inch LCD 1080p HDTV
Features and Specifications
Closer Look: Olevia 42" HDTV
Olevia 242T FHD Detailed Features
Testing and Results
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Olevia 242T FHD 42" HDTV

With analog broadcasts terminating in February, you can bet HDTVs will be a hot item this holiday season. What was once considered a luxury, is now becoming mainstream as many HDTVs are approaching the price points of their standard definition counterparts. Olevia is one such company making this a possibility. With their 2-series HDTVs, Olevia is bringing the award-winning technology of their high-end televisions to the average consumer. Today, Benchmark Reviews looks at the Olevia 242T FHD 42" HDTV. Believe it or not, this fully featured, 42" 1080p HDTV can be had for just $849.99.

Of course, price isn't everything. Most consumers want to know what they're getting for their money. That's where Benchmark Reviews has you covered. Today we'll examine the features of this TV that matter most: functionality, capability, and picture quality. In other words, what this TV can do and how well it does it.

Olevia 242T FHD 42-Inch HDTV

The interesting thing about TV and monitor reviews is there are only a handful of objective tests that can be performed. We can check heat output, power consumption, and color accuracy; but at the end of the day it really comes down to someone's subjective opinion. With that in mind, we'll include several photos throughout the review to supplement our opinions. It can't quite replace seeing the TV in person, but should give you an idea of what we're talking about.

About the company: Olevia

The Olevia brand is manufactured and distributed by the Syntax-Brillian Corporation. Here is what they have to say on their website:

"On November 30, 2005, privately held Syntax Groups Corporation and publicly held Brillian Corporation merged to form Syntax-Brillian Corporation. The company has a commanding presence in the future of high-definition TV: thin-film-transistor liquid crystal display (TFT-LCD) for 65-inch and smaller HDTVs for home theater and commercial HDTV applications. On November 21, 2006, Syntax-Brillian further broadened its product portfolio and distribution network with the acquisition of imaging technology pioneer, Vivitar Corporation.

Today, the company's lead products include its Olevia brand of widescreen HDTV-ready and HD built-in LCD TVs - one of the fastest growing global TV brands; and its Vivitar brand of digital still and video cameras. As a result of its award-winning products, broad sales channels, growing brand recognition and extensive patent portfolio, Syntax-Brillian is uniquely positioned to deliver quality digital entertainment and consumer electronics products to the world market. The U.S.-based company has strong Asian partnerships, well-established, global retail and distributor sales channels, and a worldwide supply chain that allows it to leverage economies of scale to deliver both outstanding quality and value."

There is one other important piece of information that you'll find on their website: Syntax-Brillian recently filed for bankruptcy. While they appear to be making every effort to keep the Olevia brand up and running, you may want to opt for that extended warranty through your retailer.



 

Comments 

 
# codekenny 2010-06-11 15:47
tv is great but cant find the code for a universal remote. Can someone help me? Thanks
Report Comment
 
 
# olevia can't turn on no morejuan ramirez 2010-08-04 13:38
i just wondering if is any good technician to fix my problem. well, my 42 inches is damage, when you tried to turn on the tv does not turn on any more but the blue light does. so i wondering if is any one to know how to fix it and fix it for me.
Report Comment
 
 
# Olivia 42 inch LCD ownerrichard baker 2011-02-11 13:18
Juan did you find anyone to fix your Olivia Mine is doing the same thing...Best Regards Rick
Report Comment
 
 
# Merchandise supervisorJorge Damiani 2012-09-18 22:51
Go to Amazon and buy the kit is 18.0 usd, and fix the problem
Report Comment
 
 
# Two thingsPriscilla 2011-04-16 12:17
Juan- the blue light comes on when the TV is off (Odd, I know...) It's like a stand-by light.

My problem- I figured the TV is HDCP capable, but the TV and my cable box won't agree on it, so I get an error (once I hook up the HDMI cord) saying the TV doesn't support HDCP and to use the RGB individual component cords. Any help on that?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Two thingsOlin Coles 2011-04-16 13:57
HDCP is a digital copyright protection technology, which requires digital cable connections. You must use DVI, HDMI, or some other digital cable interface.
Report Comment
 
 
# Oh!Priscilla 2011-04-16 12:20
Also, I am figuring you mean the LCD bulb gets power but the TV gets no signal? Perhaps there's a problem with the component cords? I don't think it'd be the main power supply... good luck guys!
Report Comment
 
 
# Mr.Charles 2012-10-11 09:43
My Olivia 42 inch TV will not come on. Is it the power supply system.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Mr.David Ramsey 2012-10-11 10:24
Have you considered...I dunno...maybe contacting Olevia?
Report Comment
 
 
# Olivea Power FailureBob 2013-08-20 21:41
The biggest problem with the 42" Olivea is the power board inside. They have used cheap capacitors on the set. search E-bay for the repair kit, which is a whole new set of capacitors, and unsolder/resolder the set.

It's really easy to do and would take a novice about 3 hours to do. Someone experienced, about an hour.

I've done it and the set works great again.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter