Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Storage arrow MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S 2.5-Inch 64GB SATA SSD
MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S 2.5-Inch 64GB SATA SSD E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Storage
Written by Olin Coles   
Thursday, 13 March 2008
Table of Contents: Page Index
MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S 2.5-Inch 64GB SATA SSD
SDD Features and Specifications
MemoRight GT Closer Look
SSD Testing Methodology
HD Tach Benchmarks
ATTO Disk Benchmark Results
SSD Final Thoughts
MR25.2-064S Conclusion

MR25.2-064S Conclusion

EDITORS NOTE: Please read Solid State Drive (SSD) Benchmark Performance Testing to understand how the benchmarks used in this article should be interpreted.

Perhaps I am expecting MemoRight to perform as well in product presentation and packaging as their products do in performance. Hard Disk Drive manufacturers have historically separated themselves from the rest of the hardware market when it comes to product hype, and MemoRight follows suite with very conservative retail packaging devoid of exciting colors or helpful feature lists. If they believe in their product enough to produce it, perhaps it wouldn't hurt to place a chart somewhere on the back pointing out well it performs. The packaging for the GT series is very plain (and that's putting it nicely). Years back you could find generic food products on store shelves with a black lettering on top of a plain white package. This is the same thing, with colors reversed. My point here is that MemoRight should probably add something to their retail packaging to help the consumer along with their buying decision, because without a review article like this one to inform the consumer the packaging screams low thrill.

Appearance is always a relative subject. I suppose if you're the type to put colored LED's inside your computer, than a boxy black SSD may not help reflect your laser light show at the next LAN party. On the other hand, if you're going to replace your notebook drive then it won't much matter. Personally, I am a function before fashion person, so the dull appearance isn't going to really have an ill effect on me. The shame is that a product producing the most impressive results we have yet to record looks like a Cold War relic.

Hard Disk Drives have convinced us that everything which holds our data must be heavy and covered is steel. MemoRight holds to the status quo in their decision to house the MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S SSD in a metal case. It doesn't take an engineer to realize that dropping a steel writing pen on the ground causes a harder impact than dropping a lightweight plastic pen. The same concept holds true here, and the construction is better could be improved because of it. At just under the same weight of a standard Hard Disk Drive, MemoRight forfeits any weight benefit gained by taking an inherently indestructible product and making it heavy. Even still, the durability is intact, and military funding is sure to favor the heavy-weight look.

Whenever I rate product functionality, I tend to lean more toward the right-here-and-now aspect of the product. At the 2008 CES I visited with vendors who showed me their 832GB SATA SSD, but now two months later and the product is still in the press-release phase of physical existence. This has caused me to become more of a "prove it to me" product analyst, and so now I rate products based on what I have here against what presently exists in the real world. With that said, the MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S performs better than everything else available on the retail market. It is a top-level elite performer on several fronts, and handled former champions of performance such as the Western Digital Raptor with complete ease.

MemoRight offers the GT series in 64 GB (reviewed) and 128 GB capacities, which makes them perfect candidates for notebook computers, UMPC's, servers, and high-performance workstations. The GT extended my notebook battery run time by a very noticeable margin, in addition to huge performance gains. Because this MemoRight Solid State Drive offer unmatched performance, it's not surprising that I learned they are also difficult to keep in stock. Presently the 64 GB MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S is available for $1999, and the 128 GB version sells for $3399. Bleeding edge technology that delivers extreme performance comes with a heavy price tag.

If you're a hardware enthusiast or gamer, the price of SSD's is going to seem out of reach - as it should be. Solid State Drives are not a new toy so you can get an extra frag or two out of your video games. If this is your goal, the money is better spent on a high-performance graphics card instead. SSD's deliver their best value in other areas. For the lightweight traveler who depends on compact computing with a noteworthy battery life, the SSD is the obvious solution. In regards to performance, the MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S has finally closed the gap between Solid State Drives and the long-favored 10,000 RPM Raptor. In terms of response time it is quite literally instant, and now the bandwidth matches the rest of the performance curve. If you can afford this product, it would certainly make for a quality upgrade in both performance and product longevity.

Pros:

+ Very low power consumption
+ 118 MBps Read / 123 MBps Write Bandwidth
+ Resistant to extreme shock impact
+ 5-Year MemoRight warranty
+ Excellent 0.09 ms Random Access Time
+ Rugged metal casing reinforces product durability
+ Lightweight data storage solution
+ Fastest SSD product tested to-date
+ Available in 64 GB and 128 GB capacities
+ Include Secure Erase data wiping functionality

Cons:

- Very expensive product
- Poor product documentation

Ratings:

  • Presentation: 8.25
  • Appearance: 8.75
  • Construction: 9.75
  • Functionality: 10.0
  • Value: 5.75

Final Score: 8.50 out of 10.

Questions? Comments? Benchmark Reviews really wants your feedback. We invite you to leave your remarks in our Discussion Forum.

Visit NeoStore.com for more Solid State Drive Products


Related Articles:


 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter