Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Storage arrow MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S 2.5-Inch 64GB SATA SSD
MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S 2.5-Inch 64GB SATA SSD E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Storage
Written by Olin Coles   
Thursday, 13 March 2008
Table of Contents: Page Index
MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S 2.5-Inch 64GB SATA SSD
SDD Features and Specifications
MemoRight GT Closer Look
SSD Testing Methodology
HD Tach Benchmarks
ATTO Disk Benchmark Results
SSD Final Thoughts
MR25.2-064S Conclusion

ATTO Disk Benchmark Results

EDITORS NOTE: Please read Solid State Drive (SSD) Benchmark Performance Testing to understand how the benchmarks used in this article should be interpreted.

Normally ATTO Disk Benchmark is not my first choice for drive testing tools. To be honest, I think it makes for a poor scientific comparison of products because the results have such a large range of variance. But since the Intel ICH9 and ICH9R southbridge has a bug that prohibits SSD bandwidth beyond 80 MBps I cannot use my all-time favorite System Speed Test software. The ICH chipset has an available DOS driver, but the JMicron JMB363 controller used for testing does not which left us without our favorite testing tool.

The ATTO Disk Benchmark program is free, and offers a comprehensive set of test variables to work with. In terms of disk performance, it measures interface transfer rates at several different user-specified intervals and reports read and write speeds. The drives seek and access times are not statistics made available in this application, which makes this a considerably basic tool.

Disk_Benchmark_MR25.2-064S.png

Bandwidth results are indicated as the transfer rate in the image above. Since there are results for each transfer file size, we decided to use the 1 MB statistic in our chart. Based on the results indicated above, the MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S does very well at performing very near to the 120 MBps advertised maximum rate throughout the bandwidth test results. From 64.0 Kb to 1 MB the read and write transfer bandwidth is virtually identical, with the 64 Kb file size appearing to be the delta. Since most enthusiasts will directly compare the newly minted champion against the former, we have included the test results of the Western Digital Raptor WD740ADFD below.

Disk_Benchmark_WD740ADFD.png

Western Digital's Raptor is a very good product for the money, but its time has come. With a performance delta around 16 Kb, the Raptor certainly reaches top performance at a lower delta than the MemoRight GT.

In the chart below, I have organized the products using the sum of their read and write bandwidth speeds. The MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S appears well ahead of the pack, but the Seagate 7200.11 hard drive gets the closest in terms of performance. Training behind is the Mtron Pro and MOBI, followed by the Raptor in last place. Access time is the key benefit for Raptor owners, but with 32MB of cache buffer in the 7200.11 it won't be long before other hard drives are within reach. For now it looks like there is some real promise in the linear read and write speeds of MemoRight's GT.

ATTO_Disk_Benchmark.png

Originally I hadn't planned on including the ATTO Disk Benchmark results in this article. While the software is decent enough to mention, it was merely included because almost all SSD manufacturers test with it. After several tests had been completed, I began to see why they decided on this particular software for benchmarks. What I like least about this software is how you can manipulate the settings to produce very different results. As an example, if you reduce the total test length size from 32 MB (used in our testing configuration) to one of the smaller sizes the benchmark results are more than 30% different.

Nevertheless, MemoRights GT series has proven itself capable of beating out Hard Disk Drive performance on every level... except cost. Yet with cache buffers growing larger and larger, perhaps there's a reasonable middle ground that will provide the best of both worlds. Ignoring the MemoRight GT results, aside from immediate response time SSD's still generally seem to have some ground to cover before beating HDD's in bandwidth throughput. I suspect that hybrid drives could play an important role in this argument very soon.

In our next section, we address the collection of test results and give our conclusion.



 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter