Archive Home
MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S 2.5-Inch 64GB SATA SSD E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Storage
Written by Olin Coles   
Thursday, 13 March 2008
Table of Contents: Page Index
MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S 2.5-Inch 64GB SATA SSD
SDD Features and Specifications
MemoRight GT Closer Look
SSD Testing Methodology
HD Tach Benchmarks
ATTO Disk Benchmark Results
SSD Final Thoughts
MR25.2-064S Conclusion

HD Tach Benchmarks

EDITORS NOTE: Please read Solid State Drive (SSD) Benchmark Performance Testing to understand how the benchmarks used in this article should be interpreted.

It's show time! All claims to performance are either made real or proven false in our testing, and although SSD's clearly offer some advantages it sometimes takes seeing a product compared to the performance of others to prove the point. In the tests below, Benchmark Reviews utilizes the HD Tach RW tool to compare the MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S 2.5-Inch 64GB SATA Solid State Drive against the fastest collection of desktop drives we can get our hands on.

HD Tach is a software program for Microsoft Windows that tests the sequential read, random access and interface burst speeds of the attached storage device. For the record. every single product tested was brand new and never used. HD Tach allows write-bandwidth tests only if no partition is present. Additionally, each and every product was tested five times with the average result displayed here.

HD_Tach_MR25.2-064S.png

Before we begin comparing the MemoRight MR25.2-064S SSD to the top contenders, let's examine the test results. Since this GT series utilizes a SATA controller interface, we weren't very sure how it would perform in regards to the marketing claim of 120 MBps. Evidently it had no impact at all. To our complete surprise the 150 MBps barrier for SATA-I is not much of a hurdle, since the GT successfully performed with a 123.7 MBps burst speed. Now that we know the marketing claims are legitimate, we can compare the MemoRight MR25.2-064S to our top-performers in the desktop drive sector. But even before we do that, let's see how the GT did against our recently reviewed Mtron MOBI 3000 2.5-Inch 16GB SSD MSD-SATA3025.

HD_Tach_MR25.2-064S_SATA3025.png

Comparing the HD Tach results directly between the MemoRight GT and Mtron MOBI 3000 gave us a stark contrast in performance between the two SSD's. While the MOBI 3000 is not the fastest SSD from Mtron (we'll get to that one next), it is their most affordable (although still far more expensive than the recently reviewed OCZ 64GB OCZSSD64GB SSD). The very first thing that becomes evident is how capacity has no effect on at all on the sequential read and write speeds, which really should be the case for all flash-based drives. Even the random access times are both very close. The similarities end here, however.

While the MOBI 3000 was able to outperform the OCZSSD64GB by more than 41.0 MBps in the data burst speed test, the MemoRight GT easily outpaced it with a 123.7 MBps burst compared to 103.3. More obvious in our results were the averaged bandwidth results. The sustained read speeds were similar, with the MemoRight GT scoring 117.9 MBps compared to the MOBI's 102.4. However the sustained write bandwidth test indicated a clearly different story. With exactly 71.0 MBps better sequential write speeds, the MR25.2-064S score of 122.8 MBps easily outperformed the MOBI 3000's meager 51.8.

HD_Tach_MR25.2-064S_SATA7025.png

Our next match-up puts the MemoRight GT head-to-head with its competitors fastest model: the Mtron Pro 7000 2.5-Inch 16GB SSD SATA7025. At first I was a little concerned about my test results, since the 7000 Pro seemed to be producing results very similar to the MOBI 3000. But after nine total tests I was convinced that the Mtron 7000 Pro really wasn't much different. While the results were close, the MemoRight GT recorded a 123.7 MBps burst speed which outperforms the Mtron 7000 Pro's respectable 113.0 MBps. Even the sustained read speeds were very similar, with the GT scoring 117.9 MBps compared to the 7000 Pro's 112.2. It was in the sustained write speed tests that the difference was abundantly clear: at 122.8 MBps the MemoRight GT decimates the pathetic 54.7 MBps write speed of the Mtron 7000 Pro. At this point, it seems that Mtron had better improve its technology very soon, or they won't be a contender in the SSD market.

Next up was everyones favorite: the Western Digital Raptor HDD. While we have tested all four variations of the Raptor, the 74GB version was the most popular among gamers and so that's what we displayed. All four Raptor hard drives performed nearly identical, with only very negligible differences in burst and average speeds.

HD_Tach_MR25.2-064S_Raptor.png

Comparing the MemoRight GT to the Raptor may amount to the largest factor for most enthusiasts considering the new SSD technology for their performance desktop computers. In the Burst Speed tests the Raptor averaged 127.9 MBps compared to the GT's lesser 123.7, which marked the first time the GT has seen a defeated in a test. This is not a huge surprise, since the combination of fast spindle speed and large 16MB cache buffer amount to a substantial burst capability. Over the span of capacity however, the advantage lends itself to the faster SSD. The MemoRight GT averaged a 117.9 MBps sustained read speed while the Raptor was clearly beaten with a 78.2 MBps, making a very real case for SSD's as the desktop drive replacement. The final nail in the coffin might be the sustained write speed, which the Raptor is best known for. One peek at the chart however, and the GT's monumental 122.8 MBps sustained write speed proves itself twice as fast as the Raptor's 68.2 MBps. Although not shown, the other Raptor models also performed within 3% of these results. Suffice it to say, the king is dead.

Just for good measure I have included a chart to compare the test results of MemoRight's GT against the other drives we tested, including Seagate's newest 7200.11 Hard Disk Drive. The 7200.11 features a cache buffer twice the size of previous hard disks, totaling 32MB. This comes into play early on in the tests, as the Seagate 7200.11 actually beats out the Western Digital Raptor in sequential read speed performance by a long shot.

HD_Tach_Bandwidth.png

Pressing along with its 120.0 MBps burst, the MemoRight GT was matched by Seagate's 7200.11 burst of 120.0 MBps; which are both considerably close to the Raptor's 127.9 MBps. Unlike the previous comparison however, the Seagate 7200.11 puts all 32MB worth of cache buffer to use as sequential read speed reaches 88.8 MBps on average, compared to the already phenomenal 117.9 MBps offered by the most powerful MemoRight GT. Just one good look at this chart, and you can see that history has been written.

Although Benchmark Reviews completely endorses the test results of HD Tach for our benchmarking, it's always good to have a second opinion. We decided to then test the MemoRight GT MR25.2-064S Solid State Drive using the ATTO Disk Benchmark tool in our next section. Please continue to see if our results were a fluke or not.



 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter