Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Storage arrow 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State Drive
240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State Drive E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Storage
Written by Olin Coles   
Wednesday, 17 April 2013
Table of Contents: Page Index
240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State Drive
OCZ Vertex 3.20 SSD
Features and Specifications
SSD Testing Methodology
AS-SSD Benchmark
ATTO Disk Benchmark
CrystalDiskMark 3.0 Tests
Iometer IOPS Performance
EVEREST Disk Benchmark
PCMark Vantage HDD Tests
OCZ Vertex 3.20 Conclusion

OCZ Vertex 3.20 Conclusion

IMPORTANT: Although the rating and final score mentioned in this conclusion are made to be as objective as possible, please be advised that every author perceives these factors differently at various points in time. While we each do our best to ensure that all aspects of the product are considered, there are often times unforeseen market conditions and manufacturer changes which occur after publication that could render our rating obsolete. Please do not base any purchase solely on our conclusion, as it represents our product rating specifically for the product tested which may differ from future versions. Benchmark Reviews begins our conclusion with a short summary for each of the areas that we rate.

When Benchmark Reviews tested the 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.20, it was one of the few times we've compared performance to an SSD of that capacity. Since we usually receive 240GB+ SSDs, which tend to yield the highest performance results, I was very curious to see how much of a difference there would be between the two models. It turns out that speeds were only slightly changed, but the difference was significant when it came to IOPS operational performance.

Our performance rating considers how effective the 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 solid state drive performs in operations against directly competing SATA-based storage solutions. For reference, SandForce specifies the SF-2281 controller capable of 500 MB/s maximum read/write speeds, which OCZ Technology tweaks with custom firmware to reach 550/520 MB/s sequential read/write. In our storage benchmark tests, the 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 solid state drive (model VTX3-25SAT3-240G.20) performed at or above this speed, and produced respectful results that compare the fastest SATA-based products previously tested. Our benchmark tests proved the 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 SSD was good for delivering 554/528 MBps peak read/writes speeds using ATTO Disk Benchmark. Linear testing with Everest Disk Benchmark produced 463/472 MB/s, placing the 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.2 among our top results.

The 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 solid state drive sent us for testing is advertised to deliver up to 35,000 random 4KB read IOPS and 65,000 random 4KB write IOPS. Using Iometer operational performance tests configured to a queue depth of 32 outstanding I/O's per target across 100% of the drive, our benchmarks produced 56,135 combined IOPS performance... much better than the 32,711 combined IOPS produced by the 120GB version. In the 4K 32QD tests with AS-SSD and CrystalDiskMark, the 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 SSD outperformed enthusiast storage solutions such as the Crucial RealSSD C300 and m4 SSDs, but didn't quite match up to some of the latest solid-state product releases.

OCZ-Vertex-3.20-120GB-Solid-State-Drive-Tilt.jpg

Solid State Drives are low-visibility products: you see them just long enough to install and then they're forgotten. Like their Hard Disk Drive counterparts, Solid State Drives are meant to place function before fashion. Anything above and beyond a simple metal shell is already more than what's required in terms of the appearance. OCZ Technology has retained their traditional painted enclosure, adorned with contrasting labels for Vertex 3.20. As solid state storage controllers become faster and more advanced, heat dissipation through the enclosure walls may demand that chassis designs become more beneficial than they previously needed to be.

Durability is the strongest feature credited to the entire SSD product segment. SSDs are not prone to mechanical failure, but if any Vertex 3.20-series solid state storage product does happen to fail during the 3-year warranty period, end-users may contact OCZ Technology via their company website or extensive support forums. Fortunately, there's also a toll-free telephone number (800-459-1816) for free technical support and customer service questions. OCZ has been proven to be one of the best companies in the business when it comes to customer service, and replacement parts are often sent with priority delivery.

As of mid-April 2013, the OCZ Vertex 3.20 SSD series is available online in the following capacities and prices:

LSI/SandForce have proven themselves as industry leaders, and their SF-2281 controller is mature and dependable. Based on the SandForce SF-2281 processor, the OCZ Vertex 3.20 SSD deliver native TRIM garbage collection and basic SMART support with impressive 554/528 MB/s transfer speeds. SandForce DuraClass technology adds their proprietary RAISE and DuraWrite features not available on other SSDs, enabling this product to last up to five times longer with less wear on NAND flash modules. The OCZ Vertex 3.20 SSD is a refreshed 20nm synchronous NAND flash version of a long-standing 25nm best seller. OCZ Technology backs the Vertex 3.20 with a three-year product warranty, in addition to actively updated support forums. Vertex 3.20 costs slightly less than other recently-launched solid state products, offset by the reduced cost of more efficient components. The 120GB version is a good entry-level starting point, but Benchmark Reviews recommends the larger capacity and better performing 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 SSD to enthusiasts and power users. Either version of the Vertex 3.20 will deliver an ultra-fast response time, which ensures applications open with near-instant reaction when called upon. Noteworthy performance and good value earn the 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 SSD our Silver Tachometer Award.

Pros:Quality Recognition: Benchmark Reviews Silver Tachometer Award

+ Outstanding 554/528 MBps read/write speed with ATTO
+ TCG OPAL security with 256-bit AES encryption
+ SandForce SF-2281 processor supports TRIM, SMART, and RAISE
+ DuraWrite technology extends NAND lifetime
+ 3-Year OCZ product warranty support
+ 120/240GB high-speed SSD storage capacities
+ Lightweight compact storage solution
+ Resistant to extreme shock impact
+ Low power consumption may extend battery life
+ Delivers over 56K IOMeter IOPS performance

Cons:

- Some manufacturers offer five-year warranty

Ratings:

  • Performance: 8.75
  • Appearance: 8.75
  • Construction: 9.50
  • Functionality: 9.00
  • Value: 8.50

Final Score: 8.9 out of 10.

Quality Recognition: Benchmark Reviews Silver Tachometer Award.

COMMENT QUESTION: Which brand of SSD do you trust most?


Related Articles:


 

Comments 

 
# RE: 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State Drivekzinti1 2013-05-27 22:56
There was an article not too long ago that OCZ was going out of business.
Are they or not? They keep coming out with new products so apparently not.
I'd forward the article but now I can't find it.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State DriveOlin Coles 2013-05-28 07:02
You can't find it because we never wrote that OCZ was going out of business. We did write about their layoffs and stock value about seven months ago:
benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=20789
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State Drivekzinti1 2013-05-28 07:25
I never mentioned that it was you that wrote the article. Never!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State DriveMugsy 2013-05-28 06:02
I'm most impressed by the benchmark results for the Vertex 4, which are consistently at or near the top of every test, and well above the 3.20.

I'm disappointed not to see any RAID configurations thrown into the mix (most notably, how a Raid-0 of the 120 compares to a single 240.)
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State DriveOlin Coles 2013-05-28 07:04
Almost nobody purchases a SSD to put it into a RAID-0 array, so obtaining a second drive for the sake of pleasing 1/10000 of the readers wouldn't make a lot of sense.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State DriveMugsy 2013-05-28 07:35
Begging your pardon, but that's a pretty stupid reply.

With a 120GB SSD running at almost exactly have the price as it's 240GB older brother, the possible performance increase over running two 120's over two SATA-III ports vs running a single 240 over just one SATA-III port, seems a bit near-sided.
Report Comment
 
 
# lalamoeb 2013-05-28 07:44
as far as i know in raid-0-mode trim and other vital features do not work
Report Comment
 
 
# Trim, RAID 0, Z77Bruce 2013-05-28 08:50
The Z77 Intel Chipset supports Trim with RAID. It's a shame that it only supports two SATA 6Gb/s ports, limiting RAID options to RAID 0 or RAID 1.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: RE: 240GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State Drivekzinti1 2013-05-28 08:01
You do know that the only storage capacity running a pair of 120GB ssd's in RAID-0 is 120GB don't you?
You only obtain a faster speed and still have only the capacity of one 120GB ssd. The designation "240 GB's" is meaningless when describing this.
Paying twice just for a bump in speed is what's completely stupid.
If you lose one drive then you lose the info on both drives in RAID-0.
RAID-0 is just fine for hdd's to get a worthwhile gain in speed.
For SSD's the speed increase is not worth the expense. Just a complete waste of money.
I use 500 GB Samsung SSD's and don't RAID them. They're more than fast enough as is and running a pair in RAID-0 would just be ludicrous.
I own 5 of these, so far, that cost $319.99 each. I am more than happy with their speed as is.
If it were possible, all I would do is run them as JBOD. Same speed but double capacity.
Report Comment
 
 
# RAID-0Mugsy 2013-05-28 08:45
Raid-0 is not redundant. It is simple "striping", so you will have all 240GB available. (only Raid levels above 0 that allocate one drive just for recovery "wastes" a drive.)

I'm not sure what you're talking about. But then again, neither do you.

The pitfalls of using Raid-0 (lose one drive and lose everything) is the same whether you use SSDs or HDDs. I ran Raid-0 with two HDDs for years with no problem. SSDs are (no longer) more susceptible to failure than most HDDs.

You claim Raiding SSDs is "not worth the expense", but with two 120GB going for $240 and a single 240GB going for $220, the "expense" is only $20 whereas the performance gains might more than justify the extra money (but we don't know b/c they never tested it.)

Whether YOU are satisfied with the speed of your single SSDs is a matter of usage and personal preference. *I* however edit LARGE A/V files frequently that would greatly benefit from the faster Read/Write speeds of Raid-0.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter