Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Video Cards arrow NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Video Cards
Written by Olin Coles   
Tuesday, 26 March 2013
Table of Contents: Page Index
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST
First Look: GTX 650 Ti BOOST
Video Card Testing Methodology
DX10: Crysis Warhead
DX11: 3DMark11
DX11: Aliens vs Predator
DX11: Batman Arkham City
DX11: Battlefield 3
DX11: Lost Planet 2
DX11: Metro 2033
DX11: Unigine Heaven 3.0
Temperature and Power Consumption
GeForce GTX 650 Ti Conclusion

VGA Power Consumption

In this section, PCI-Express graphics cards are isolated for idle and loaded electrical power consumption. In our power consumption tests, Benchmark Reviews utilizes an 80-PLUS GOLD certified OCZ Z-Series Gold 850W PSU, model OCZZ850. This power supply unit has been tested to provide over 90% typical efficiency by Chroma System Solutions. To measure isolated video card power consumption, Benchmark Reviews uses the Kill-A-Watt EZ (model P4460) power meter made by P3 International. In this particular test, all power consumption results were verified with a second power meter for accuracy.

The power consumption statistics discussed in this section are absolute maximum values, and may not represent real-world power consumption created by video games or graphics applications.

A baseline measurement is taken without any video card installed on our test computer system, which is allowed to boot into Windows 7 and rest idle at the login screen before power consumption is recorded. Once the baseline reading has been taken, the graphics card is installed and the system is again booted into Windows and left idle at the login screen before taking the idle reading. Our final loaded power consumption reading is taken with the video card running a stress test using graphics test #4 on 3DMark11. Below is a chart with the isolated video card power consumption (system without video card subtracted from measured combined total) displayed in Watts for each specified test product:

Video Card Power Consumption by Benchmark Reviews

VGA Product Description

(sorted by combined total power)

Idle Power

Loaded Power

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 480 SLI Set
82 W
655 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 590 Reference Design
53 W
396 W
ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 Reference Design
100 W
320 W
AMD Radeon HD 6990 Reference Design
46 W
350 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295 Reference Design
74 W
302 W
ASUS GeForce GTX 480 Reference Design
39 W
315 W
ATI Radeon HD 5970 Reference Design
48 W
299 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 690 Reference Design
25 W
321 W
ATI Radeon HD 4850 CrossFireX Set
123 W
210 W
ATI Radeon HD 4890 Reference Design
65 W
268 W
AMD Radeon HD 7970 Reference Design
21 W
311 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 470 Reference Design
42 W
278 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580 Reference Design
31 W
246 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570 Reference Design
31 W
241 W
ATI Radeon HD 5870 Reference Design
25 W
240 W
ATI Radeon HD 6970 Reference Design
24 W
233 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 465 Reference Design
36 W
219 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 Reference Design
14 W
243 W
Sapphire Radeon HD 4850 X2 11139-00-40R
73 W
180 W
NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GX2 Reference Design
85 W
186 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 Reference Design
10 W
275 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 Reference Design
9 W
256 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 Reference Design
35 W
225 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260 (216) Reference Design
42 W
203 W
ATI Radeon HD 4870 Reference Design
58 W
166 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti Reference Design
17 W
199 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 Reference Design
18 W
167 W
AMD Radeon HD 6870 Reference Design
20 W
162 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 Reference Design
14 W
167 W
ATI Radeon HD 5850 Reference Design
24 W
157 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST Reference Design
8 W
164 W
AMD Radeon HD 6850 Reference Design
20 W
139 W
NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT Reference Design
31 W
133 W
ATI Radeon HD 4770 RV740 GDDR5 Reference Design
37 W
120 W
ATI Radeon HD 5770 Reference Design
16 W
122 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 Reference Design
22 W
115 W
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti Reference Design
12 W
112 W
ATI Radeon HD 4670 Reference Design
9 W
70 W
* Results are accurate to within +/- 5W.

This section discusses power consumption for the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST video card, which operated at reference clock speeds. Our power consumption results are not representative of the entire GTX 650 Ti BOOST-series product family, which may feature a modified design by some partners. GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST requires a single 6-pin PCI-E power connections for normal operation, and will not activate the display unless proper power has been supplied. NVIDIA recommends a 450W power supply unit for stable operation with GTX 650 Ti BOOST.

NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-650-Ti-BOOST-Power.jpg

In our test results the GeForce GTX 650 Ti consumed a mere 8W at the lowest idle reading, and 164W under full load. NVIDIA's average TDP is specified as 136W. This positions the GTX 650 Ti BOOST among the least power-hungry video cards we've ever tested under load, but much more impressive that it's achieved by a GTX-series product. If you're familiar with electronics, it will come as no surprise that less power consumption equals less heat output as evidenced by our thermal results below...

GeForce GTX 650 Ti Temperatures

This section reports our temperature results subjecting the video card to maximum load conditions. During each test a 20°C ambient room temperature is maintained from start to finish, as measured by digital temperature sensors located outside the computer system. GPU-Z is used to measure the temperature at idle as reported by the GPU, and also under load.

Using a modified version of FurMark's "Torture Test" to generate maximum thermal load, peak GPU temperature is recorded in high-power 3D mode. FurMark does two things extremely well: drives the thermal output of any graphics processor much higher than any video games realistically could, and it does so with consistency every time. Furmark works great for testing the stability of a GPU as the temperature rises to the highest possible output.

The temperatures illustrated below are absolute maximum values, and do not represent real-world temperatures created by video games or graphics applications:

Video Card Ambient Idle Temp Loaded Temp Max Noise
ATI Radeon HD 5850 20°C 39°C 73°C 7/10
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 20°C 26°C 65°C 4/10
AMD Radeon HD 6850 20°C 42°C 77°C 7/10
AMD Radeon HD 6870 20°C 39°C 74°C 6/10
ATI Radeon HD 5870 20°C 33°C 78°C 7/10
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 20°C 27°C 78°C 5/10
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570 20°C 32°C 82°C 7/10
ATI Radeon HD 6970 20°C 35°C 81°C 6/10
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580 20°C 32°C 70°C 6/10
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 590 20°C 33°C 77°C 6/10
AMD Radeon HD 6990 20°C 40°C 84°C 8/10
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST 20°C 26°C 73°C 4/10
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti 20°C 26°C 62°C 3/10
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 20°C 26°C 71°C 3/10
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 20°C 26°C 75°C 3/10
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 690 20°C 30°C 81°C 4/10

As we've mentioned on the pages leading up to this section, NVIDIA's Kepler architecture yields a much more efficient operating GPU compared to previous designs. This becomes evident by the low idle temperature, and translates into modest full-load temperatures. While NVIDIA's reference design works exceptionally well at cooling the GK106 GPU, consumers should expect add-in card partners to advertise unnecessarily excessive over-cooled versions for an extra premium. 73°C after ten minutes at 100% load is nothing at all, and is nowhere close to this card's 98°C thermal threshold.



 

Comments 

 
# Compare Coming soon...?WhyNot 2013-03-26 05:38
Will this testing information be used if a future review of the AMD Radeon HD 7790 is given? I realize that the 7790 is half the GGDR5 of the GTX 650 Ti, but given they share a similar price point it would be interesting to see if the extra 1GB GGDR5 (as well as any other differences in power consumption, temp, etc.) is worth the extra $20-30. Thanks.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Compare Coming soon...?Olin Coles 2013-03-26 07:33
Each writer has their own set of graphics cards and computer system to test with, so nobody else would be using my results to test products they receive. That being said, our test sample is supposedly 'delayed' because of last-minute fixes in the design. Hopefully we'll have something soon for comparison.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Compare Coming soon...?WhyNot 2013-03-28 03:47
Thanks Olin. I look forward to that review as well.
Report Comment
 
 
# Really...Kirk Martin 2013-03-26 05:44
I do not think I have read so much crap in a review before... AMD has disappeared from the Scene! Wow I never knew this site had so many ANTI AMD fans on board.

I think you best read on here... ##engadget.com/2013/03/22/amd-radeon-hd-7790/

If you are going to continue to produce sub standard articles and post them, looks like I am going to have to go somewhere else for decent reviews.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Really...cosminmcm 2013-03-26 06:00
Go in peace!
Try semiaccurate, you will feel at home.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Really...Steven Iglesias-Hearst 2013-04-01 13:19
Read some of our AMD Video Card reviews and tell us again that we favor NVIDIA...
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOSTKirk Martin 2013-03-26 05:59
To everyone wanting to know how fast this card is to the NEW AMD HD 7790, This new Nvidia card is 20% slower avg in all games tested here.

##engadget.com/2013/03/22/amd-radeon-hd-7790/

The AMD card is also cheaper and has cross fire.

Biased reviews do no one any favors, they give out the wrong information and damage the market in the long run.

I cannot believe this review was allowed to go live, its pretty disgusting and low.
Report Comment
 
 
# Uh, noBrett 2013-03-26 06:40
There are a couple of problems with your post there.

First, you're quoting an announcement from AMD there, which is therefore not remotely unbiased.

Second, and more importantly, AMD are claiming their card to be 20% faster that the 650 Ti at 1080p, not the 650 Ti BOOST. If you want to assume AMD is actually correct, then compare accordingly. In this article the Ti BOOST being reviewed appears to be substantially more than 20% faster than the base Ti model.

As for his "AMD has all but disappeared from the scene" quote, yeah, that's certainly worthy of criticism.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOSTOlin Coles 2013-03-26 07:38
Congratulations! The article you've referenced compares the 7790 to the non-BOOST version of this card, which costs $30 less and has half the memory with much lower clock speeds... something I went into great detail explaining in this very article. Kudos for glossing over the very first page.
Report Comment
 
 
# MrAlan Wakefield 2013-03-27 03:00
"AMD has all but disappeared from the scene"

Really? Really?

As a graphics card review site, you have lost my trust.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: MrOlin Coles 2013-03-27 07:36
Did someone just make a statement about AMD that you didn't like? Oh NO! You had better go find a website that says only the things you want to hear about your favorite company, because that's what builds trust! Or... take a look at the share price of AMD stock over the past year, then take a look at the success (or lack of) their product launches in that period, and finish it all off with a look at their future road map. Make sure to come back and rant once you're done, so that we have a written record of your delusion.
Report Comment
 
 
# MrAlan Wakefield 2013-03-28 06:35
Just for the record, I have owned both Nvidia & AMD cards.

I'm looking for Best performance/value, no matter who makes that card. In other words 'none biased'. Something that a Card reviewing site should definitely be, otherwise their results/benchmarks will always be 'suspect'.

For you to say "AMD has all but disappeared from the scene" (especially them having recently released new cards) is arguably one of the most ridiculous things I've heard & only comes across has showing up your own bias towards Nvidia..
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: MrOlin Coles 2013-03-28 09:02
Just for the record, AMD hasn't offered a new GPU design in quite some time. Adjusting clock speeds and memory amounts on an existing platform does not make it a new platform, merely a new version of an old product.
Report Comment
 
 
# mrAlan Wakefield 2013-03-28 10:32
So what if it is merely a new version of an old product, if it beats the competition on performance/value, it's getting my money.

Did it ever occur to you, that if a company has a product ahead of the competition, it would make little sense to bring out a new platform.....just sayin!

Again I must stress, I'm not a fanboi, I came here to read up on the 650 boost with the possibility of this being my next card. But I do expect you to acknowledge the competition.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: mrOlin Coles 2013-03-28 10:45
I included benchmark results for all of the AMD video cards we've received. Since they've become more reluctant to sample products like they used to, we don't get as many samples. Still, I think that I did more than enough to 'acknowledge the competition'.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: mrAlan Wakefield 2013-03-28 11:11
So begs the question... why include AMD cards in the benchmarks, if, as you put it "AMD has all but disappeared from the scene"

It wouldn't be because they are a viable alternative, & haven't left the scene at all, would it?

Anyhow I'm not here to argue, it was an interesting article (that statement aside) so good luck in future articles & keep an 'open mind'.

cheers
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: mrOlin Coles 2013-03-28 11:13
Do you know the difference between "has disappeared from the scene" and "has all but disappeared from the scene"?
Report Comment
 
 
# The Competition for the Boost...Tangldweb 2013-04-02 17:25
...would be the 7850 from all the few reveiws out on this awesome card beings how new it is. And now, being the Proud Owner of the 650ti Boost in my new HP h9 i7 computer, I can say words like Ultra, FXAA, AND 2x MSAA in the same sentence,.. and be talkin $150 for 2g. And though this was an Ebay deal, the price will come down even more in the near future. As for Value, PLEASE,.. DO NOT READ the other reveiw I mentioned here if the 7790 is in your future because it Will be AMD. "A"m "M"ighty "D"isappointed.
from hardocp,...
Price - On price, the new NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost has the advantage, unless you can find AMD video cards on sale or with rebates. The GTX 650 Ti Boost 1GB models will be sold for $149, the 2GB models will be sold for $169. Currently, the base price on Radeon HD 7850's are at $179 for the 1GB models and $185 for the 2GB models, and upwards above $200. Unless cards are offered with a rebate, the GTX 650 Ti Boost has the advantage. Compared to the Radeon HD 7790, the price is exactly the same for 1GB models at $149. However, the performance is certainly not, as explained below.

Performance - On performance, the new NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost offers the same gameplay experience as the Radeon HD 7850. We found that the gameplay experience was the same in every game, but the performance itself was actually slightly faster with the GTX 650 Ti Boost. Compared to the new Radeon HD 7790, the gameplay experience was superior on the GeForce GTX 650 Ti in every single game. Plus, the performance itself just smashed the HD 7790.

Value Summary - The new GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost competes not with the Radeon HD 7790, which was just announced days ago, but in fact it competes with AMD's next model up, the Radeon HD 7850. However, the GTX 650 Ti is priced at the Radeon HD 7790's level. Therefore what you get is Radeon HD 7850-like experience, for less money. The clear value is the new GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost.
Sounds like Olin isn't the only one who is in nVidia's corner with this one,.. I know I am. Off to Battlefeild 3 !!! Hav Fun !!!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: The Competition for the Boost...Kirk Martin 2013-04-03 12:30
I hope you enjoy it, however I do prefer AMD cards because they work with all Monitors and have no issues on setup... I tried to connect a old Goodmans X Pro monitor to a customers machine, just so he could use it until his new monitor came. However no matter what I did, the nvidia card would not apply the correct refresh rate required by the monitor. I fitted an AMD card, it worked first time, no issues with setup.

You can stick with Nvidia, and you can keep the abuse you give out, you have proven with your responses that you cannot handle any criticism about reviews that you have written. It is a big shame... I have seen your reviews for AMD hardware in the past.


Also makes me wonder if you should be hosting a review web site!
Report Comment
 
 
# To Quote Mr. Martin...Tangldweb 2013-04-04 18:38
... I think you best read on here, #hardocp.com/article/2013/03/26/nvidia_geforce_gtx_6 50_ti_boost_video_ca rd_review/1 At this point I'm wondering why someone so happy with their chosen product would be even looking at the comptition. Is it because you were hoping for a favorable outcome your way??? Well other than making personal assaults on the people here, maybe I can see a review of yours. Which card do you own in this review? How many other reviews have you read on the 650boot? How extensive is your background of nVidia? Kinda have to know "How" they work to "Make" them work Right. As well, I'm sure your AMD power hungry, room heating computers work well with AMD gpu's. My HP i7 with 650boost ran fine on my RCA 35inch CRT for setup before going in the Man Cave to the 55inch Plasma,.. and until you mentioned compatability here, it never entered my mind. Hey, your team lost this match. And though from my view they lost pretty badly, don't take it out on the wife and kids,.. or the Dog for that matter. There's always tomorrow.
Report Comment
 
 
# And I'll man up...Tangldweb 2013-04-04 19:10
...and tell you one Big Problem you may find with an i7 system and a 650boost,.. getting to use it. Really!!! I'm on the laptop with the Xbox while the family is watching "How to train your Dragon". We DO have a Blueray player people. LOL
Report Comment
 
 
# Love itJustin Ashburn 2013-03-27 19:46
Love the review, love the site and most of all, I love your comments Olin. Nice to see someone be true to themselves and stick up for their work instead of backing down to try to please every visitor.
Report Comment
 
 
# Are you people Slow,..Tangldweb 2013-03-29 17:29
...or just not understand that this is a Test !!! And though AMD was not the prossesor used either by the way, you test with things in that particular items area, even if it is an old "Inferior" product. As well, the ti-Boost is so new, that a dozen different drivers have no doubt already come out in just the time I've been typing let alone the fact we havent even Seen the retail mutations! And not to dis this site At All, if you don't like the opinion of this reveiw, try this one I read just before reading one,( #hardocp.com/article/2013/03/26/nvidia_geforce_gtx_6 50_ti_boost_video_ca rd_review/1 ) .. which pretty much has the same opinion,.. Smack Down of AMD's cards,.. And nVidia's Too!!! Truth Hurt's and information Rule's, and all the reveiws available show the same trend. And I'll bet money, (do you except US currency :), you just watch, this card will be the one the majority of cards in it's class are tested against,.. and you can hold the Cash!!! Cheers !!!
Report Comment
 
 
# Can Console Gaming Save AMD From Collapse?Olin Coles 2013-04-09 14:16
I've written an editorial that AMD fan boys might find enlightening:
benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=22572

Let me know if you still think I'm biased after reading it. :)
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter