Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Storage arrow 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State Drive
120GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State Drive E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Storage
Written by Olin Coles   
Friday, 29 March 2013
Table of Contents: Page Index
120GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State Drive
OCZ Vertex 3.20 SSD
Features and Specifications
SSD Testing Methodology
AS-SSD Benchmark
ATTO Disk Benchmark
CrystalDiskMark 3.0 Tests
Iometer IOPS Performance
EVEREST Disk Benchmark
PCMark Vantage HDD Tests
OCZ Vertex 3.20 Conclusion

EVEREST Disk Benchmark

Many enthusiasts are familiar with the Lavalys EVEREST benchmark suite, but very few are aware of the Disk Benchmark tool available inside the program. The EVEREST Disk Benchmark performs linear read and write bandwidth tests on each drive, and can be configured to use file chunk sizes up to 1MB (which speeds up testing and minimizes jitter in the waveform). Because of the full sector-by-sector nature of linear testing, Benchmark Reviews endorses this method for testing SSD products, as detailed in our Solid State Drive Benchmark Performance Testing article. However, Hard Disk Drive products suffer a lower average bandwidth as the capacity draws linear read/write speed down into the inner-portion of the disk platter. EVEREST Disk Benchmark does not require a partition to be present for testing, so all of our benchmarks are completed prior to drive formatting.

Linear disk benchmarks are superior bandwidth speed tools in my opinion, because they scan from the first physical sector to the last. A side affect of many linear write-performance test tools is that the data is erased as it writes to every sector on the drive. Normally this isn't an issue, but it has been shown that partition table alignment will occasionally play a role in overall SSD performance (HDDs don't suffer this problem).

Everest-Read-OCZ-Vertex-3.20-120GB.png

The high-performance storage products we've tested with Lavalys EVEREST Disk Benchmark are connected to the Intel P67-Express SATA 6Gb/s controller and use a 1MB block size option. Charted above, read performance on the 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 solid state drive measured average speeds of 462.2 MB/s with a relatively close maximum peak speed of 471.1 MB/s. These read results are among the highest we've tested, and very consistent across the full range of capacity. Everest linear write-to tests were next...

Everest-Write-OCZ-Vertex-3.20-120GB.png

The waveform chart below illustrates how well the OCZ Vertex 3.20 manages file transfers, and makes linear write performance appears relatively uneven. The results seen here are consistent with most other SSD products we've tested in the past that use a DRAM cache buffer. The 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 solid state drive recorded an average linear write-to speed of 465.7 MB/s, with maximum performance reaching 487.2 MB/s. A lower 120GB capacity caused this SSD to trail others in write-to performance, yet still offer exceptional speed results.

The chart below shows the average linear read and write bandwidth speeds for a cross-section of storage devices tested with EVEREST:

Everest-Disk-Benchmark_Results.png

Linear tests are an important tool for comparing bandwidth speed between storage products - although HDD products suffer performance degradation over the span of their areal storage capacity. Linear bandwidth certainly benefits the Solid State Drive, since there's very little fluctuation in transfer speed. This is because Hard Disk Drive products decline in performance as the spindle reaches the inner-most sectors on the magnetic platter, away from the fast outer edge.

In the next section we use PCMark Vantage to test real-world performance...



 

Comments 

 
# RE: 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State DriveArgos 2013-05-10 05:25
"Would you buy a lower-capacity SSD because of costs, or save funds and insist on higher-capacity?"

At the moment I have an older OCZ SSD in my system which contains the OS and I also work with PC's that do not have an SSD. So I can easily compare how I perceive the speed increase in real life.

My next system will probably not contain an SSD at all. I think it simply is not worth it. HDD are so much cheaper and the actual, practical perceived speed increase when using an SSD is so minimal that I think it is not worth it at all.

I recently built a new system for a friend and after some consideration we both decided that he did not need to waste money on an SSD at all. Instead he invested it in an extra HDD for more storage.

I feel the price of a 240 Gb SSD at $220 is atrocious. I like the SSD technology very much and have nothing against them at all. I would buy them if I had a room full of money, but I do not. I'd rather invest the extra money in a graphics card for example. But if you have ample money, by all means buy an SSD. It is wonderful tech.
Report Comment
 
 
# umm... no.Chris 2013-05-10 06:05
I'm sorry OCZ. I just do not trust your brand with SSDs at the moment. You'd have t lower the price down to $0.50/GB before I decided to purchase one.
Report Comment
 
 
# Go on...Patches 2013-05-10 11:46
$0.50/GB is really hard to find for even a lower end SSD. But other than that, I am curious what your hesitation is with OCZ. I hear a lot of bad things about them however in 3 SSDs of theirs I have owned, Vertex 1, 2, and 3, I have had relatively few issues. One issue was easily solved with a firmware update and the other was covered under warranty, just shy of 3 years the drive had. I'm wondering if maybe there is some issue specific to their newer drives you are having that I'm not aware of. I am considering getting another drive this summer and would appreciate any heads up you can give me. Thanks!
Report Comment
 
 
# ColJ D Mathis 2013-05-10 16:30
I am also wondering WHY these reviews and the POS so NOT include the hardware for installation. OBVIOUSLY, the 2.5 inch, et al, will NOT fill a 5 inch slot, or even 3.5 inch. SO you have to get adapters or a rail or some other intermediary item to affix the little card (SSD) to your unit. It is a major agro to order some hot new device and NOT be able to use it until you get the "recommended" add-on items, without which you cant install. And as to speed, with 6/ HDD available. Seagate comes to mind with Raptor @ 10K speeds and two cashe levels. why would the typical home user, even hard core gamer, really NEED SSD? I would put Rator up against this DDS, and @ 80USD it is a great buy. I have a suggestion for SSD MFG, to improve their offerings, if they would be interested. I can be contacted at email.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ColOlin Coles 2013-05-10 20:26
SSDs don't need all four points mounted like a hard disk drive requires, because nothing moves or vibrates. You can match up one screw hole and mount it... seems to work just fine.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter