Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Storage arrow 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State Drive
120GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State Drive E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Storage
Written by Olin Coles   
Friday, 29 March 2013
Table of Contents: Page Index
120GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State Drive
OCZ Vertex 3.20 SSD
Features and Specifications
SSD Testing Methodology
AS-SSD Benchmark
ATTO Disk Benchmark
CrystalDiskMark 3.0 Tests
Iometer IOPS Performance
EVEREST Disk Benchmark
PCMark Vantage HDD Tests
OCZ Vertex 3.20 Conclusion

Closer Look: OCZ Vertex 3.20 SSD

Solid state drive devices have gained quick popularity with performance-minded consumers because they work equally well in PC, Linux, or Apple computer systems. Likewise, these drives install quite easily into both desktop and notebook platforms without modification. The OCZ Vertex 3.20 SSD Series is best suited for performance-orientated users, giving personal computers a much faster response time and boosting productivity.

In this article Benchmark Reviews will test the OCZ Vertex 3.20 SSD series, which comes packaged in a plastic clamshell container. OCZ Technology offers the Vertex 3.20 SSD series in only two capacities: 120 GB and 240 GB. These models share the same part numbers with a capacity designator: VTX3-25SAT3-120G.20 that represents the 120 GB model. All OCZ Vertex 3.20 solid state drive products measure 99.8 L x 69.63 W x 9.3mm H. The 120GB version is available for $119.99 (Newegg/Amazon), and 240GB capacity for $219.99 (Newegg/Amazon).

OCZ-Vertex-3.20-120GB-Solid-State-Drive-Package.jpg

The 120GB model we received (VTX3-25SAT3-120G.20) is specified to reach 550 MB/s for sequential reads and 520 MB/s sequential writes. OCZ specifies 4K random reads up to 20,000 IOPS and random writes up to 40,000 IOPS. Even though Vertex 3.20's product specification advertise extremely fast performance ratings, these solid state drive products are designed with a focus on product reliability. The SandForce SF-2281 controller and firmware inside Vertex 3.20 SSDs receive a long validation cycle to ensure optimal stability is delivered to the consumer, and receive an OCZ Technology three-year product warranty. These features could help factor into the consumer's decision, as it improves long-term value.

Unlike fragile Hard Disk Drive (HDD) storage products, SSDs are not nearly as sensitive to impact damage and do not require (or benefit from) any kind of special vibration dampening or shock-proof enclosures. Once installed the SSD is usually hidden away from view, which explains why OCZ has maintained a conservative appearance on the Vertex 3.20 series.

OCZ-Vertex-3.20-120GB-Solid-State-Drive-Tilt.jpg

The OCZ Vertex 3.20 SSD features a 9.3mm thick chassis that comes painted black finish. OCZ utilizes a standard two-piece metal enclosure for Vertex 3.20-series SSDs, with a series branding label at the top panel and product information label on the bottom. Internal components are revealed by removing four small counter-sunk screws located at the bottom of this solid state drive.

Standard 2.5" drive bay mounting points are pre-drilled into the SSD chassis with fine screw threading, allowing this drive to fit directly into notebook computers that use SATA connections. The SSD mounting positions matched up to the drive bracket on my notebook computer, and after only a few minutes of upgrading I booted-up from a restored Windows 7 System Backup Image with ease. Optionally, by using the included 3.5" to 2.5" tray adapter this SSD will also install directly into ATX desktop computers.

Backwards compatible with SATA 1.5 GB/s and 3.0 GB/s interfaces, all LSI/SandForce SSD controllers offer: native TRIM garbage collection in supporting Operating System (such as Microsoft Windows-7), Native Command Queuing (NCQ) with 32 command slots, and basic Self-Monitoring, Analysis, and Reporting Technology (SMART) command set. LSI/SandForce built the SF-2200 series to produce 500 MB/s sequential read and write bandwidth with 60K (burst)/20K (sustained) IOPS random write (4K transfers). More detail is available in our LSI/SandForce SF-2000 Series SSD Processor Overview article.

OCZ-Vertex-3.20-120GB-Solid-State-Drive-Angle.jpg

Similar to other second-generation LSI/SandForce-driven SSDs, OCZ Vertex 3.20-series SSDs feature a SF-2281VB1-SDC SATA 6Gb/s processor. Offering 8 flash channels with 8 Byte lanes configured (one lane per channel), the SF-2281 maintains a BGA-256 package. The SF-2281 controller offers advanced ECC engine correcting up to 55 bits per 512-byte sector to assure high data integrity and support for future generations of flash memory.

The SF-2281 SSD processor provides enhanced ECC with BCH data protection, and also includes LSI/SandForce's unique RAISE (Redundant Array of Independent Silicon Elements) technology. RAISE provides the protection and reliability of RAID on a single SSD drive, thanks to flash architecture, without the significant write overhead of parity. The LSI/SandForce DuraClass technology automatically stores data using Trusted Computing Group (TCG) OPAL security with 256-bit AES encryption and automatic, line-rate double encryption with a drive-level password, preventing data extraction directly from the physical flash memory modules.

In the next few sections we'll test the OCZ Vertex 3.20 solid state drive, comparing this solid state drive to other retail products intended for notebook and desktop installations.



 

Comments 

 
# RE: 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.20 Solid State DriveArgos 2013-05-10 05:25
"Would you buy a lower-capacity SSD because of costs, or save funds and insist on higher-capacity?"

At the moment I have an older OCZ SSD in my system which contains the OS and I also work with PC's that do not have an SSD. So I can easily compare how I perceive the speed increase in real life.

My next system will probably not contain an SSD at all. I think it simply is not worth it. HDD are so much cheaper and the actual, practical perceived speed increase when using an SSD is so minimal that I think it is not worth it at all.

I recently built a new system for a friend and after some consideration we both decided that he did not need to waste money on an SSD at all. Instead he invested it in an extra HDD for more storage.

I feel the price of a 240 Gb SSD at $220 is atrocious. I like the SSD technology very much and have nothing against them at all. I would buy them if I had a room full of money, but I do not. I'd rather invest the extra money in a graphics card for example. But if you have ample money, by all means buy an SSD. It is wonderful tech.
Report Comment
 
 
# umm... no.Chris 2013-05-10 06:05
I'm sorry OCZ. I just do not trust your brand with SSDs at the moment. You'd have t lower the price down to $0.50/GB before I decided to purchase one.
Report Comment
 
 
# Go on...Patches 2013-05-10 11:46
$0.50/GB is really hard to find for even a lower end SSD. But other than that, I am curious what your hesitation is with OCZ. I hear a lot of bad things about them however in 3 SSDs of theirs I have owned, Vertex 1, 2, and 3, I have had relatively few issues. One issue was easily solved with a firmware update and the other was covered under warranty, just shy of 3 years the drive had. I'm wondering if maybe there is some issue specific to their newer drives you are having that I'm not aware of. I am considering getting another drive this summer and would appreciate any heads up you can give me. Thanks!
Report Comment
 
 
# ColJ D Mathis 2013-05-10 16:30
I am also wondering WHY these reviews and the POS so NOT include the hardware for installation. OBVIOUSLY, the 2.5 inch, et al, will NOT fill a 5 inch slot, or even 3.5 inch. SO you have to get adapters or a rail or some other intermediary item to affix the little card (SSD) to your unit. It is a major agro to order some hot new device and NOT be able to use it until you get the "recommended" add-on items, without which you cant install. And as to speed, with 6/ HDD available. Seagate comes to mind with Raptor @ 10K speeds and two cashe levels. why would the typical home user, even hard core gamer, really NEED SSD? I would put Rator up against this DDS, and @ 80USD it is a great buy. I have a suggestion for SSD MFG, to improve their offerings, if they would be interested. I can be contacted at email.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ColOlin Coles 2013-05-10 20:26
SSDs don't need all four points mounted like a hard disk drive requires, because nothing moves or vibrates. You can match up one screw hole and mount it... seems to work just fine.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter