Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Network arrow NETGEAR ProSafe GS110T Gigabit SmartSwitch
NETGEAR ProSafe GS110T Gigabit SmartSwitch E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Network
Written by Bruce Normann   
Tuesday, 08 January 2013
Table of Contents: Page Index
NETGEAR ProSafe GS110T Gigabit SmartSwitch
Closer Look: NETGEAR GS110T
Detailed Features
Technology Details
Features and Specifications
SmartSwitch Setup
SmartSwitch Security Settings
Network Switch Testing Methodology
TestResults
Final Thoughts
Conclusion

NETGEAR GS110T Gigabit Smart Switch Review

Manufacturer: NETGEAR, Inc.
Model Number: GS110T-100NAS
UPC: 606449080759
Price As Tested: $119.99 (NewEgg / Amazon)

Full Disclosure: The product sample used in this article has been supplied by NETGEAR.

Network switches are not reviewed by the press that often, but they are a necessary part of many home or small business networks, so we need to take a look now and then at what's available, what works, and how well they work. NETGEAR is a major player in the networking market, and they have several different product lines to choose from. Today we're looking at one of the less expensive offerings in their ProSafe SmartSwitch line.

First, let's clarify what a network switch is. It is strictly a wired device, and is most often designed to switch Ethernet traffic. There are telco switches, and video switchers, and fiber optic switches, but the vast majority of network switches you and I will encounter handle Ethernet. In Wireless networks, routers and adapters generally communicate directly with one another, but wireless media bridges are starting to make that distinction a little fuzzy. You could use the couple of ports on the back of your router to connect a few devices together, but switches still have some advantages:

  • Switches allow dozens of devices to connect
  • Switches keep traffic between two devices from getting in the way of your other devices using the same network
  • Switches allow control of who has access to various parts of the network
  • Switches allow you to monitor usage
  • High-end switches have pluggable modules to tailor them to network needs

NETGEAR_ProSafe_GS110T_SmartSwitch_Front_34_01.jpg

Until recently, there were only two types of switches, un-managed and managed. The first type is truly plug-and-play, there are no settings to make, no configurations to set, and they always work the same way, for every device plugged into one of their ports. This was the only kind of switch available to the average consumer, and they served their purpose well. The managed switches were strictly for the corporate LANs and data centers. They were configured by the high holy priests of corporate IT, called LAN Administrators. No one could make a change in the network unless one of them logged into one or more switches and made it, usually with cryptic command-line instructions. Nowadays, they can log in to a GUI via a web browser, but I know that some of them still use command line arguments.

Today, there is a new class of switches, commonly called a "Smart Switch". It's a blend of the two previous extremes, and is targeted to both corporate users and what the industry politely calls "ProSumers". That's you and me, in case you didn't recognize your new title. If you've ever logged into your router, some months after you first installed it, and changed some settings you're a Prosumer. If the SSID on your router is still "linksys", you're not. Definitely not.

The GS110T is a low-to-mid range model in the NETGEAR family of ProSafe Gigabit Smart Switches. It's got enough ports to future-proof most home network installations, plus some special interfaces. Most of what I'll be covering in this review is perfectly applicable to several other models in the ProSafe product line, so be sure to check out the full line in order to find a switch that meets your needs. Now, let's take a closer look at the GS110T, and see what it offers in both features and performance.



 

Comments 

 
# Teamingjcgeny 2013-02-05 11:12
the switch is nearly the same than the one i just buy: the GS108T-v2
i am very happy to see you gave more than 9/10

i wonder what can be results of udp and tcp if you use 2 network cards in a teaming configuration
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: TeamingBruce 2013-02-05 11:13
Teaming, 802.3ad, Link Aggregation, LACP... they're all very fickle functions. They all promise a faster "pipe", but only deliver a wider one. My experience with NAS devices and Win 7 workstations has been very frustrating. Linux and Win Server are probably better equipped to use this functionality in a straightforward way.

I will keep investigating, as new equipment is added to the test bench, but ultimately 10GbE or another standard that is faster than GbE will take over.
Report Comment
 
 
# Literature about computersLeonid1427 2013-02-05 11:58
на вышеприведенном интернет-ресурсе собран громадный выбор умных статей про спутниковый ресивер gs 8304
Report Comment
 
 
# computer BooksZinovii8685 2013-02-05 11:59
на вышеприведенном интернет-блоге собран большой выбор интересных статей про Полный набор StreamReader.dll
Report Comment
 
 
# Power ConsumptionCraig 2013-02-25 00:06
Nice thorough technical review.

I am particularly concerned with energy consumption of all my computing infrastructure since much of it is left on 24/7 (SOHO).

Specifically for a "switch" I like to know power usage and power factor ratings at the wall plug with all ports in use and zero ports in use. Some switches like my DLINK DGS-1024G drop power usage to 2.5W when none of the 24 ports are in use, and detect cable lengths and reduce individual port power levels on shorter cable runs. Does the NETGEAR GS110T have any of these "Green" features? How about adding a "Green" rating to your reviews?

My application is home use. At any one time there may be 30+ active IP's. This covers VoIP, Media Centers, TV, MP3 players, Cell Phones, PVR's, Computers, Laptops, Printer... most are wired, but about 5 are wireless. I have 4 "green" gigabit switches running continuously, 1 "primary" and 3 "secondary" in high density drop locations.

With this much equipment running, "green" is an important purchase consideration to me. And I do spend more to get power conserving "green" equipment. For the NETGEAR GS110T, it appears the "Green" rating wasn't a design consideration and is N/A. Obviously if I need the NETGEAR GS110T features, this won't matter much, unless there is a competitor offering a "green" alternative with the product features I need.

Otherwise, a great review... Thanks!
Craig
Report Comment
 
 
# It's Green....Bruce Normann 2013-02-25 09:42
Thanks for the feedback Craig,

The GS110T does support Auto Power-Down of unused ports, and Short Cable Mode. They are both configurable in the device management software. To access these settings, click System > Management > Green Ethernet Configuration.

Youre right about the Green features not being very prominently described in the Features and Specifications, I had to go to the 244 page Software Administration Manual to find the details. At this point, not every product in the NETGEAR line supports both of those energy-saving features, so it's important to do the research and get an explicit answer, if it's important to you.

I'll try and see if I can get the power measurements you're looking for... I have another switch on the testbed right now, a new, low cost 10GbE model. I'll try to pay more attention to the power usage while testing it.
Report Comment
 
 
# Energy Efficient EthernetCraig 2013-02-28 18:32
Here's an interesting link on the "green" idea which also provides compelling arguments which could be used in a review (hint)...

#en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Energy_Efficient_Eth ernet

As it points out, just the network controller part of computing uses 5.3 terawatt-hours of electricity in the US as of 2005. I doubt this figure has gotten any better. ;)
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: NETGEAR ProSafe GS110T Gigabit SmartSwitchJerry Suppan 2013-07-29 05:18
Hello I am a newcomer to the world of network smart switches. I am not sure what would really be the appropriate switch for me to consider for my home network. The home network consists of up to about five computers and 2 networked printers and one synology NAS device. One of the computers, and Mac Mini, is connected to my Front room TV will be streaming video content from my synology NAS device in the back room. So, I am thinking link aggregation is one important feature. Can this product do link aggregation? In other words using two ports each having a 1 Gb per second throughput in combination? I recently acquired the Synology 1513+ NAS device and it has 4 Gb ports on the back. I can use a couple of these or all of these in combination but to make any use out of that, the switch has to support aggregation. Thanks much.
Report Comment
 
 
# LACPBruce 2013-07-29 06:14
Hi Jerry, Yes, this product does support link aggregation. It might not behave the way you are thinking, though. You will get more throughput from the NAS when you have multiple clients hitting it. For instance, if two PCs were doing their nightly backup to the NAS at the same time you were streaming video, you are less likely to interfere with the video stream than if you just had one GbE connection going to the NAS.

You have 11 ports listed in your tally, so I would suggest a 12 port switch, or maybe even a 16 port, if you think your needs will expand. I don't see any devices that can take advantage of the fiber optic connections that the NETGEAR GS110T offers, so perhaps another model in their product line will be best for you.
Report Comment
 
 
# Aggregation and Media PlayersCraig 2013-07-30 19:26
Jerry,
I have a home network setup similar to what you are describing; Media Centers, VoIP, networked MP3 players, computers, server, etc. All running on vanilla gigabit. When playing a 12GB 1080p with 6-channel DTS or AAC audio the media players work fine even when using 100BaseT. The server (or NAS) needs to be gigabit to handle multiple streams. It doesn't take a lot of imagination to see if each player works with 100BaseT that one gigabit connection will probably support something close to 10 of these media players.

My equipment: DLink DGS-1024D "green" 24 port unmanaged switch, server 8-core Linux with 12TB storage and 1 gigabit ethernet channel, all gigabit cable is CAT5e or CAT6. Media Players are a mix of WD-Live and ASUS. I have 30 active IP's on my network; 4 computers, 5 networked MP3 players, 4 DVR's (which also share video programming over the local network), 5 VoIP, 1 X-Box, 1 WiFi router for I-Pods and Android phones, and probably a few other devices I'm forgetting and transient networked equipment which comes and goes.

In my experience, a properly configured home system doesn't need more than gigabit speeds for multiple media players operating against local NAS sources. Part of "properly configured" is do -not- stack switches more than 2 between your device and DHCP server.

For different reasons, I agree with Bruce, a different switch may better serve your needs. If I were looking again, I might look for a "Green" managed switch.

I had a longer response typed, but this site caused my browser to "refresh" and I lost my original response.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter