Archive Home arrow Web Affiliates: arrow Web Reviews arrow Huntkey Balance King 5000 500W Power Supply








Huntkey Balance King 5000 500W Power Supply E-mail
Written by HardwareSecrets   
Saturday, 22 May 2010

Huntkey Balance King 5000 500W Power Supply Review

Certain power supply series from Huntkey (like V-Power and Green Star) are labeled with their peak wattage instead of their continuous wattage. So far in our reviews only Titan 650 W (sold in the US as the first version of Best Buy's Rocketfish 700 W) and Jumper 550 didn't explode during our tests. We've already reviewed the 450 W version from Balance King series, which also exploded in a very unusual way. Let's see if the 500 W model will survive our tests... HardwareSecrets


 

Comments 

 
# RocketFish 500WPS2Blair 2013-10-25 23:42
I hope the stupid Rocketfish 500 watt does not explode. My brother gave me his i5 750 rig it has been running a Diamond ATI HD 5850 8gb Gskill Ripjaw 1600 DDR3
with the Rocketfish 500 for 3 years or more. I replaced the 5850 (after it was overclocked a little hard) with a MSI-650ti And a 9800GTX+ for Dedicated Cuda/Physx.
I checked the Rocketfish after long gameplay and its not even warm (unless it heats inside)
Anyone know of problems with the Rocketfish 500w ? Because it should be atleast decent running this rig for 3 years. Or maybe this one is a fluke? Or like the movie towering inferno waiting to go up?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Huntkey Balance King 5000 500W Power SupplyGeorge 2013-11-15 19:45
Probably like the movie towering inferno LOL, But just don't push it just incase. If you are talking about the RocketFish model RF-500PS2 it was made by Huntkey and not CWT, But it is actually a decent PSU alot of people have used it with no trouble. And I have never heard of one exploding on anyone. I am sure forums would be full of complaints about it especially by now.

Good luck!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Huntkey Balance King 5000 500W Power SupplyRosco P CoalTrain 2013-11-24 04:10
It was strange! There was never any real review test ever done on the RF-500WPS2. For some reason the testers tested the 700w and 900 and the RocketFish 500W continuous 550W Peak made by cwt. But they never tested the RocketFish 500W continuous 600W Peak made by Huntkey, Which is strange because Best buy sold quite a bit of those units.(More than the 500-550 peak by CWT) So you would think they would have tested it instead of telling people to stay away. It did not seem to matter anyway since a bunch were sold. A big number were purchased at Best Buy with the ATI 5750 card. I personally bought a RocketFish RF-500WPS2 back in 2010. (I got it on Sale) I still have it running my PC too. My PC is a lynnfield (like yours) But mine is a i7 960 and CORSAIR Vengeance DDR3 1600 16GB, MY GPU is a Sapphire ATI HD 7870. I originally had a 5770 and I was afraid the 7870 might be too much. But It runs with no problem. I was really unaware of the problems reported with some manufactured Hunkey PSU's. I found out just recently doing a search of PSU's Before replacing my old XFX 5770. So I am not sure if I should be scared or not. But if it has gone this long it can't be that bad right? It would be nice to see a actual load test.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Huntkey Balance King 5000 500W Power SupplyOlin Coles 2013-11-24 08:34
Just curious, but why is an old review from early 2010 suddenly getting comments? Has this product made a comeback, or did the community just start buying it?
Report Comment
 
 
# HmmJerry Horrace 2013-11-29 04:48
It looks like a guy wants some info on a psu in a older computer that was gave to him. I would like to help him. But finding info on older Huntkey's is like a needle in a hay stack.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Huntkey Balance King 5000 500W Power SupplyJoey Pepatone 2013-12-11 18:04
It is just not a risk worth taking kid. If you can't afford another just take it easy. Then we gets a few stones buy a new one.
Report Comment
 
 
# heyFrank 2014-01-02 06:46
Just buy a Corsair CX series, They are a very solid unit made by CWT but backed by Corsair warranty. And snobby people hate them because they are cheap and just as good as the ones they paid hundreds more for.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews

Like Benchmark Reviews on FacebookFollow Benchmark Reviews on Twitter