Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Video Cards arrow NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Video Cards
Written by Olin Coles   
Tuesday, 26 March 2013
Table of Contents: Page Index
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST
First Look: GTX 650 Ti BOOST
Video Card Testing Methodology
DX10: Crysis Warhead
DX11: 3DMark11
DX11: Aliens vs Predator
DX11: Batman Arkham City
DX11: Battlefield 3
DX11: Lost Planet 2
DX11: Metro 2033
DX11: Unigine Heaven 3.0
Temperature and Power Consumption
GeForce GTX 650 Ti Conclusion

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST Video Card

Manufacturer: NVIDIA Corporation
Product Name: GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST
Retail Price: Starting at $169.99 (Amazon | Newegg)

Full Disclosure: The product sample used in this article has been provided by NVIDIA.

With the economy on the rebound, gamers are coming out of hibernation with a hunger for modern DirectX11 graphics and realism. Since AMD has all but disappeared from the scene, NVIDIA has timed their affordable mainstream video card launch perfectly. Based on the NVIDIA Kepler GK106 architecture, the GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST delivers 2GB of 1502 MHz GDDR5 memory and 768 CUDA Cores operating at 980 MHz up to 1033+ with NVIDIA GPU Boost technology. In this article, Benchmark Reviews tests the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST graphics card using several highly-demanding DX11 video games.

By tradition, NVIDIA's GeForce GTX series offers enthusiast-level performance with features like multi-card SLI pairing. More recently, the GTX family has included GPU Boost application-driven variable overclocking technology. The GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST graphics card keeps with tradition in terms of performance by offering the capable GK106 GPU with 768 CUDA cores clocked to 980 MHz with 2GB of GDDR5 vRAM. Later next month the GTX 650 Ti BOOST will become available in a less-expensive ($150) 1GB GDDR5 version. Of course, NVIDIA's Kepler GPU architecture adds proprietary features to both versions, such as: 3D Vision, Adaptive Vertical Sync, multi-display Surround, PhysX, and TXAA antialiasing.

The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST features a reference design that includes a 28nm Kepler GK106 GPU, which houses four SMX units and offers 768 CUDA Cores operating at a fixed base clock speed of 980 MHz with 64 texture units. There's 2048 MB of GDDR5 video memory good for 144.2 GB/s bandwidth over a 192-bit interface, all clocked to 1502 MHz (6008 MHz data rate). In comparison to GeForce GTX 650, the new GTX 650 Ti BOOST offers twice the number of CUDA Cores and texture units, with faster core clocks and much more memory bandwidth. GTX 650 Ti BOOST adds faster speeds, more memory, and GPU Boost technology to the GTX 650 Ti.

NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-650-Ti-BOOST-Angle.jpg

Of the many platforms available for gamers to enjoy video games, there's no question that the highest quality graphics come from PC. While game developers might not consider PC gaming as lucrative as entertainment consoles, companies like NVIDIA use desktop graphics to set the benchmark for smaller more compact designs that make it into notebooks, tablets, and smartphone devices. NVIDIA's Kepler GPU architecture is an example of this, delivering unprecedented performance while operating cooler and consuming far less power than previous generation graphics cards. Gamers upgrading from the GeForce 9600 GT may see up to 600% performance increase, or 200% increase over the GeFroce GTX 550 Ti.

GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST offers all the same high-end features found on the top-end GTX video cards but with a much more affordable price tag. In addition to a new and improved Kepler GPU architecture with NVIDIA GPU Boost technology, the GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST video card delivers further refinement to the user experience. Smoother FXAA and adaptive vSync technology results in less chop, stutter, and tearing in on-screen motion. Adaptive vSync adjusts the monitor's refresh rate whenever the FPS rate becomes too low to properly sustain vertical sync, thereby reducing stutter and tearing artifacts. NVIDIA TXAA helps deliver a film-style anti-aliasing technique with a mix of hardware post-processing, custom CG file style AA resolve, and an optional temporal component for better image quality.

NVIDIA's product stack includes support for the following graphics cards (as of March 2013):

  • GeForce GTX TITAN
  • GeForce GTX 690
  • GeForce GTX 680
  • GeForce GTX 670
  • GeForce GTX 660 Ti
  • GeForce GTX 660
  • GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST
  • GeForce GTX 650 Ti
  • GeForce GTX 650
  • GeForce GT 640
  • GeForce GT 630
  • GeForce GT 620
  • GeForce GT 610
  • GeForce 210



 

Comments 

 
# Compare Coming soon...?WhyNot 2013-03-26 05:38
Will this testing information be used if a future review of the AMD Radeon HD 7790 is given? I realize that the 7790 is half the GGDR5 of the GTX 650 Ti, but given they share a similar price point it would be interesting to see if the extra 1GB GGDR5 (as well as any other differences in power consumption, temp, etc.) is worth the extra $20-30. Thanks.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Compare Coming soon...?Olin Coles 2013-03-26 07:33
Each writer has their own set of graphics cards and computer system to test with, so nobody else would be using my results to test products they receive. That being said, our test sample is supposedly 'delayed' because of last-minute fixes in the design. Hopefully we'll have something soon for comparison.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Compare Coming soon...?WhyNot 2013-03-28 03:47
Thanks Olin. I look forward to that review as well.
Report Comment
 
 
# Really...Kirk Martin 2013-03-26 05:44
I do not think I have read so much crap in a review before... AMD has disappeared from the Scene! Wow I never knew this site had so many ANTI AMD fans on board.

I think you best read on here... ##engadget.com/2013/03/22/amd-radeon-hd-7790/

If you are going to continue to produce sub standard articles and post them, looks like I am going to have to go somewhere else for decent reviews.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Really...cosminmcm 2013-03-26 06:00
Go in peace!
Try semiaccurate, you will feel at home.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Really...Steven Iglesias-Hearst 2013-04-01 13:19
Read some of our AMD Video Card reviews and tell us again that we favor NVIDIA...
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOSTKirk Martin 2013-03-26 05:59
To everyone wanting to know how fast this card is to the NEW AMD HD 7790, This new Nvidia card is 20% slower avg in all games tested here.

##engadget.com/2013/03/22/amd-radeon-hd-7790/

The AMD card is also cheaper and has cross fire.

Biased reviews do no one any favors, they give out the wrong information and damage the market in the long run.

I cannot believe this review was allowed to go live, its pretty disgusting and low.
Report Comment
 
 
# Uh, noBrett 2013-03-26 06:40
There are a couple of problems with your post there.

First, you're quoting an announcement from AMD there, which is therefore not remotely unbiased.

Second, and more importantly, AMD are claiming their card to be 20% faster that the 650 Ti at 1080p, not the 650 Ti BOOST. If you want to assume AMD is actually correct, then compare accordingly. In this article the Ti BOOST being reviewed appears to be substantially more than 20% faster than the base Ti model.

As for his "AMD has all but disappeared from the scene" quote, yeah, that's certainly worthy of criticism.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOSTOlin Coles 2013-03-26 07:38
Congratulations! The article you've referenced compares the 7790 to the non-BOOST version of this card, which costs $30 less and has half the memory with much lower clock speeds... something I went into great detail explaining in this very article. Kudos for glossing over the very first page.
Report Comment
 
 
# MrAlan Wakefield 2013-03-27 03:00
"AMD has all but disappeared from the scene"

Really? Really?

As a graphics card review site, you have lost my trust.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: MrOlin Coles 2013-03-27 07:36
Did someone just make a statement about AMD that you didn't like? Oh NO! You had better go find a website that says only the things you want to hear about your favorite company, because that's what builds trust! Or... take a look at the share price of AMD stock over the past year, then take a look at the success (or lack of) their product launches in that period, and finish it all off with a look at their future road map. Make sure to come back and rant once you're done, so that we have a written record of your delusion.
Report Comment
 
 
# MrAlan Wakefield 2013-03-28 06:35
Just for the record, I have owned both Nvidia & AMD cards.

I'm looking for Best performance/value, no matter who makes that card. In other words 'none biased'. Something that a Card reviewing site should definitely be, otherwise their results/benchmarks will always be 'suspect'.

For you to say "AMD has all but disappeared from the scene" (especially them having recently released new cards) is arguably one of the most ridiculous things I've heard & only comes across has showing up your own bias towards Nvidia..
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: MrOlin Coles 2013-03-28 09:02
Just for the record, AMD hasn't offered a new GPU design in quite some time. Adjusting clock speeds and memory amounts on an existing platform does not make it a new platform, merely a new version of an old product.
Report Comment
 
 
# mrAlan Wakefield 2013-03-28 10:32
So what if it is merely a new version of an old product, if it beats the competition on performance/value, it's getting my money.

Did it ever occur to you, that if a company has a product ahead of the competition, it would make little sense to bring out a new platform.....just sayin!

Again I must stress, I'm not a fanboi, I came here to read up on the 650 boost with the possibility of this being my next card. But I do expect you to acknowledge the competition.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: mrOlin Coles 2013-03-28 10:45
I included benchmark results for all of the AMD video cards we've received. Since they've become more reluctant to sample products like they used to, we don't get as many samples. Still, I think that I did more than enough to 'acknowledge the competition'.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: mrAlan Wakefield 2013-03-28 11:11
So begs the question... why include AMD cards in the benchmarks, if, as you put it "AMD has all but disappeared from the scene"

It wouldn't be because they are a viable alternative, & haven't left the scene at all, would it?

Anyhow I'm not here to argue, it was an interesting article (that statement aside) so good luck in future articles & keep an 'open mind'.

cheers
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: mrOlin Coles 2013-03-28 11:13
Do you know the difference between "has disappeared from the scene" and "has all but disappeared from the scene"?
Report Comment
 
 
# The Competition for the Boost...Tangldweb 2013-04-02 17:25
...would be the 7850 from all the few reveiws out on this awesome card beings how new it is. And now, being the Proud Owner of the 650ti Boost in my new HP h9 i7 computer, I can say words like Ultra, FXAA, AND 2x MSAA in the same sentence,.. and be talkin $150 for 2g. And though this was an Ebay deal, the price will come down even more in the near future. As for Value, PLEASE,.. DO NOT READ the other reveiw I mentioned here if the 7790 is in your future because it Will be AMD. "A"m "M"ighty "D"isappointed.
from hardocp,...
Price - On price, the new NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost has the advantage, unless you can find AMD video cards on sale or with rebates. The GTX 650 Ti Boost 1GB models will be sold for $149, the 2GB models will be sold for $169. Currently, the base price on Radeon HD 7850's are at $179 for the 1GB models and $185 for the 2GB models, and upwards above $200. Unless cards are offered with a rebate, the GTX 650 Ti Boost has the advantage. Compared to the Radeon HD 7790, the price is exactly the same for 1GB models at $149. However, the performance is certainly not, as explained below.

Performance - On performance, the new NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost offers the same gameplay experience as the Radeon HD 7850. We found that the gameplay experience was the same in every game, but the performance itself was actually slightly faster with the GTX 650 Ti Boost. Compared to the new Radeon HD 7790, the gameplay experience was superior on the GeForce GTX 650 Ti in every single game. Plus, the performance itself just smashed the HD 7790.

Value Summary - The new GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost competes not with the Radeon HD 7790, which was just announced days ago, but in fact it competes with AMD's next model up, the Radeon HD 7850. However, the GTX 650 Ti is priced at the Radeon HD 7790's level. Therefore what you get is Radeon HD 7850-like experience, for less money. The clear value is the new GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost.
Sounds like Olin isn't the only one who is in nVidia's corner with this one,.. I know I am. Off to Battlefeild 3 !!! Hav Fun !!!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: The Competition for the Boost...Kirk Martin 2013-04-03 12:30
I hope you enjoy it, however I do prefer AMD cards because they work with all Monitors and have no issues on setup... I tried to connect a old Goodmans X Pro monitor to a customers machine, just so he could use it until his new monitor came. However no matter what I did, the nvidia card would not apply the correct refresh rate required by the monitor. I fitted an AMD card, it worked first time, no issues with setup.

You can stick with Nvidia, and you can keep the abuse you give out, you have proven with your responses that you cannot handle any criticism about reviews that you have written. It is a big shame... I have seen your reviews for AMD hardware in the past.


Also makes me wonder if you should be hosting a review web site!
Report Comment
 
 
# To Quote Mr. Martin...Tangldweb 2013-04-04 18:38
... I think you best read on here, #hardocp.com/article/2013/03/26/nvidia_geforce_gtx_6 50_ti_boost_video_ca rd_review/1 At this point I'm wondering why someone so happy with their chosen product would be even looking at the comptition. Is it because you were hoping for a favorable outcome your way??? Well other than making personal assaults on the people here, maybe I can see a review of yours. Which card do you own in this review? How many other reviews have you read on the 650boot? How extensive is your background of nVidia? Kinda have to know "How" they work to "Make" them work Right. As well, I'm sure your AMD power hungry, room heating computers work well with AMD gpu's. My HP i7 with 650boost ran fine on my RCA 35inch CRT for setup before going in the Man Cave to the 55inch Plasma,.. and until you mentioned compatability here, it never entered my mind. Hey, your team lost this match. And though from my view they lost pretty badly, don't take it out on the wife and kids,.. or the Dog for that matter. There's always tomorrow.
Report Comment
 
 
# And I'll man up...Tangldweb 2013-04-04 19:10
...and tell you one Big Problem you may find with an i7 system and a 650boost,.. getting to use it. Really!!! I'm on the laptop with the Xbox while the family is watching "How to train your Dragon". We DO have a Blueray player people. LOL
Report Comment
 
 
# Love itJustin Ashburn 2013-03-27 19:46
Love the review, love the site and most of all, I love your comments Olin. Nice to see someone be true to themselves and stick up for their work instead of backing down to try to please every visitor.
Report Comment
 
 
# Are you people Slow,..Tangldweb 2013-03-29 17:29
...or just not understand that this is a Test !!! And though AMD was not the prossesor used either by the way, you test with things in that particular items area, even if it is an old "Inferior" product. As well, the ti-Boost is so new, that a dozen different drivers have no doubt already come out in just the time I've been typing let alone the fact we havent even Seen the retail mutations! And not to dis this site At All, if you don't like the opinion of this reveiw, try this one I read just before reading one,( #hardocp.com/article/2013/03/26/nvidia_geforce_gtx_6 50_ti_boost_video_ca rd_review/1 ) .. which pretty much has the same opinion,.. Smack Down of AMD's cards,.. And nVidia's Too!!! Truth Hurt's and information Rule's, and all the reveiws available show the same trend. And I'll bet money, (do you except US currency :), you just watch, this card will be the one the majority of cards in it's class are tested against,.. and you can hold the Cash!!! Cheers !!!
Report Comment
 
 
# Can Console Gaming Save AMD From Collapse?Olin Coles 2013-04-09 14:16
I've written an editorial that AMD fan boys might find enlightening:
benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=22572

Let me know if you still think I'm biased after reading it. :)
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter